Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Symptoms of being human /

by Garvin, Jeff [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Rhode Island Teen Book Award Nominee 2018: Publisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]Edition: First edition.Description: 335 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062382863; 0062382861.Subject(s): Identity (Philosophical concept) -- Juvenile fiction | Gender identity -- Juvenile fiction | Sex role -- Juvenile fiction | Bullying -- Juvenile fiction | Blogs -- Juvenile fiction | High schools -- Juvenile fiction | Schools -- Juvenile fiction | Young adult fictionSummary: "A gender-fluid teenager who struggles with identity creates a blog on the topic that goes viral, and faces ridicule at the hands of fellow students"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult LGBTQ+ Titles Awards: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC GAR Available 39270004855627

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Starred reviews from Publishers Weekly and Booklist * YALSA Top Ten Quick Pick for Reluctant Readers * ALA Best Fiction for Young Adults List * 2017 Rainbow</p> <p>A sharply honest and moving debut perfect for fans of The Perks of Being a Wallflower and Ask the Passengers.</p> <p>Riley Cavanaugh is many things: Punk rock. Snarky. Rebellious. And gender fluid. Some days Riley identifies as a boy, and others as a girl. But Riley isn't exactly out yet. And between starting a new school and having a congressman father running for reelection in über-conservative Orange County, the pressure--media and otherwise--is building up in Riley's life.</p> <p>On the advice of a therapist, Riley starts an anonymous blog to vent those pent-up feelings and tell the truth of what it's really like to be a gender fluid teenager. But just as Riley's starting to settle in at school--even developing feelings for a mysterious outcast--the blog goes viral, and an unnamed commenter discovers Riley's real identity, threatening exposure. And Riley must make a choice: walk away from what the blog has created--a lifeline, new friends, a cause to believe in--or stand up, come out, and risk everything.</p> <p>From debut author Jeff Garvin comes a powerful and uplifting portrait of a modern teen struggling with high school, relationships, and what it means to be a person.</p>

"A gender-fluid teenager who struggles with identity creates a blog on the topic that goes viral, and faces ridicule at the hands of fellow students"-- Provided by publisher.

Accelerated Reader AR 5.2 12.0 190468.

Includes bibliographical references (page 137).

Novelist Select