Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Trace /

by Cummings, Pat [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]Edition: First edition.Description: 307 pages : illustration ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062698841; 0062698842.Subject(s): New York Public Library -- Fiction | New York Public Library -- Juvenile fiction | Ghost stories | Orphans -- Juvenile fiction | Haunted places -- Juvenile fiction | Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction | Schools -- Juvenile fiction | African Americans -- Juvenile fiction | New York (N.Y.) -- Juvenile fiction | Ghosts -- Fiction | Orphans -- Fiction | Haunted places -- Fiction | Middle schools -- Fiction | Schools -- Fiction | African Americans -- Fiction | New York (N.Y.) -- Fiction | JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes | JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American | JUVENILE FICTION / Family / Orphans & Foster Homes | JUVENILE FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American | Ghost stories | Fiction | Juvenile worksSummary: "Trace Carter doesn't know how to feel at ease in his new life in New York. Even though his artsy Auntie Lea is cool, her brownstone still isn't his home. Haunted by flashbacks of the accident that killed his parents, the best he can do is try to distract himself from memories of the past. But the past isn't done with him. When Trace takes a wrong turn in the New York Public Library, he finds someone else lost in the stacks with him: a crying little boy, wearing old, tattered clothes. And though at first he can't quite believe he's seen a ghost, Trace soon discovers that the boy he saw has ties to Trace's own history--and that he himself may be the key to setting the dead to rest."-- Provided by publisher.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's New Book Shelf J CUM (Browse shelf) Available 39270004806729

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>In a debut novel that's perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Erin Entrada Kelly, award-winning author/illustrator and educator Pat Cummings tells a poignant story about grief, love, and the untold stories that echo across time. </p> <p>Trace Carter doesn't know how to feel at ease in his new life in New York. Even though his artsy Auntie Lea is cool, her brownstone still isn't his home. Haunted by flashbacks of the accident that killed his parents, the best he can do is try to distract himself from memories of the past.</p> <p>But the past isn't done with him. When Trace takes a wrong turn in the New York Public Library, he finds someone else lost in the stacks with him: a crying little boy, wearing old, tattered clothes.</p> <p>And though at first he can't quite believe he's seen a ghost, Trace soon discovers that the boy he saw has ties to Trace's own history--and that he himself may be the key to setting the dead to rest.  </p>

"Trace Carter doesn't know how to feel at ease in his new life in New York. Even though his artsy Auntie Lea is cool, her brownstone still isn't his home. Haunted by flashbacks of the accident that killed his parents, the best he can do is try to distract himself from memories of the past. But the past isn't done with him. When Trace takes a wrong turn in the New York Public Library, he finds someone else lost in the stacks with him: a crying little boy, wearing old, tattered clothes. And though at first he can't quite believe he's seen a ghost, Trace soon discovers that the boy he saw has ties to Trace's own history--and that he himself may be the key to setting the dead to rest."-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Theodore Trace Carter is doing his best to adjust to a new normal after the car accident that killed both of his parents. Now living with his eccentric aunt in Brooklyn, the thirteen-year-old spends his days talking to his best (and only) friend, eating dinners with his aunts quirky companions, and avoiding any painful conversation in his therapy sessions. Trace would rather not discuss his persistent flashbacks of the accident, which leave him both terrified and confused. Whyand howwas he the only one to survive? When he begins researching a school history project at the New York Public Library, those questions take a backseat to a more pressing problemthe ghost of a tearful little boy who seems to fixate on Trace. The project leads Trace to the horrific burning of the Colored Orphan Asylum in 1863 and the discovery of how his questions about the past connect to his life today. Cummingss first offering for middle graders and middle schoolers is suspenseful and well-paced, striking a solid balance between ghost story and school story; past and present. eboni njoku (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select