Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A stone of hope : a memoir /

by St. Germain, Jim [author.]; Sternfeld, Jon [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]Edition: First edition.Description: x, 292 pages : illustrations ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780062458797; 0062458795.Subject(s): St. Germain, Jim | African American social reformers -- United States -- Biography | Social advocacy -- United States | Problem youth -- United States -- Biography | Juvenile detention homes | Juvenile delinquents -- Rehabilitation | Juvenile delinquents -- Psychology | Autobiographies | Autobiographies | Biography | Autobiographies
Contents:
Part I: Brooklyn, USA. Front-row seat ; Five square blocks ; Hustle ; Buffett ; Survival mode ; T and T's -- Part II: The system. State property ; Points ; Scars ; Inside out ; Light ; Astonishing -- Part III: Out. Re-entry ; Through ; Exposure ; Outward ; The circle ; The bridge ; Thousands of Kalief Browders ; Fences and billboards ; Unfinished products.
Summary: A searing memoir by a young black man who was a lost cause until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.Summary: Born into abject poverty in Haiti, St. Germain's family moved to Brooklyn's Crown Heights where he adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. At the age of fifteen he was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority, St. Germain got his GED and graduated from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live in the projects and work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Bob Lucas Memorial Library
Adult Collection Adult New Arrivals BRANCH BIO SAI, J. Available 39270004809681

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>In the tradition of The Other Wes Moore and Just Mercy, a searing memoir and clarion call to save our at-risk youth by a young black man who himself was a lost cause--until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.</p> <p>Born into abject poverty in Haiti, young Jim St. Germain moved to Brooklyn's Crown Heights, into an overcrowded apartment with his family. He quickly adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. By the time he was arrested for dealing crack cocaine, he had been handcuffed more than a dozen times. At the age of fifteen the walls of the system were closing around him.</p> <p>But instead of prison, St. Germain was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority who enforced a system based on structure and privileges rather than intimidation and punishment, St. Germain slowly found his way, eventually getting his GED and graduating from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live, as an adult, in the projects where he had lost himself, and to work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.</p> <p>A Stone of Hope is more than an incredible coming-of-age story; told with a degree of candor that requires the deepest courage, it is also a rallying cry. No one is who they are going to be--or capable of being--at sixteen. St. Germain is living proof of this. He contends that we must work to build a world in which we do not give up on a swath of the next generation.</p> <p>Passionate, eloquent, and timely, illustrated with photographs throughout, A Stone of Hope is an inspiring challenge for every American, and is certain to spark debate nationwide.</p>

A searing memoir by a young black man who was a lost cause until he landed in a rehabilitation program that saved his life and gave him purpose.

Born into abject poverty in Haiti, St. Germain's family moved to Brooklyn's Crown Heights where he adapted to street life and began stealing, dealing drugs, and growing increasingly indifferent to despair and violence. At the age of fifteen he was placed in "Boys Town," a nonsecure detention facility designed for rehabilitation. Surrounded by mentors and positive male authority, St. Germain got his GED and graduated from college. Then he made the bravest decision of his life: to live in the projects and work to reform the way the criminal justice system treats at-risk youth.

Includes bibliographical references (pages 291-292).

Part I: Brooklyn, USA. Front-row seat ; Five square blocks ; Hustle ; Buffett ; Survival mode ; T and T's -- Part II: The system. State property ; Points ; Scars ; Inside out ; Light ; Astonishing -- Part III: Out. Re-entry ; Through ; Exposure ; Outward ; The circle ; The bridge ; Thousands of Kalief Browders ; Fences and billboards ; Unfinished products.

Table of contents provided by Syndetics

  • Part I Brooklyn, USA
  • 1 Front-Row Seat (p. 3)
  • 2 Five Square Blocks (p. 21)
  • 3 Hustle (p. 39)
  • 4 Buffett (p. 57)
  • 5 Survival Mode (p. 75)
  • 6 T and T's (p. 87)
  • Part II The System
  • 7 State Property (p. 103)
  • 8 Points (p. 115)
  • 9 Scars (p. 131)
  • 10 Inside Out (p. 147)
  • 11 Light (p. 165)
  • 12 Astonishing (p. 179)
  • Part III Out
  • 13 Re-Entry (p. 197)
  • 14 Through (p. 211)
  • 15 Exposure (p. 219)
  • 16 Outward (p. 229)
  • 17 The Circle (p. 237)
  • 18 The Bridge (p. 247)
  • 19 Thousands of Kalief Browders (p. 259)
  • 20 Fences and Billboards (p. 271)
  • 21 Unfinished Products (p. 279)
  • Acknowledgments (p. 289)
  • Notes (p. 291)

Novelist Select