Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The afterwards /

by Harrold, A. F [author.]; Gravett, Emily [illustrator.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Bloomsbury Children's Books, [2019]Description: 197 pages : color illustrations ; 21 cm.ISBN: 9781547600441; 1547600446.Subject(s): Death -- Juvenile fiction | Future life -- Juvenile fiction | Best friends -- Juvenile fiction | Friendship -- Juvenile fiction | Paranormal fiction | JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic | JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Friendship | JUVENILE FICTION / Social Themes / Death, Grief, Bereavement | Death -- Fiction | Future life -- Fiction | Best friends -- Fiction | Friendship -- Fiction | Supernatural -- Fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Paranormal fiction | JUVENILE FICTION / Fantasy & Magic | FictionSummary: When her best friend, Ness, dies suddenly, Ember finds a way into the Afterworld, determined to bring Ness back.-- Provided by Publisher.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's New Book Shelf J HAR Available 39270004795997

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> From the acclaimed team behind The Imaginary comes another powerful, poignant, and darkly fantastical story about friendship, perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Roald Dahl. </p> <p>Ember and Ness are best friends, completely inseparable. Ember can't imagine what life would be without Ness. Until Ness dies, in a most sudden and unexpected way. Ember feels completely empty. How can this even be real?</p> <p>Then Ember finds a way into the afterworld-a place where the recently dead reside. She knows there must be a way to bring Ness back, so she decides to find it. Because that's what friends do: rescue each other. But the afterworld holds its own dangers. How far will Ember go to make things the way they were again?</p> <p>Paired with enchanting illustrations from Emily Gravett, A. F. Harrold's powerfully woven tale explores the lengths we go to for the people we love.</p>

When her best friend, Ness, dies suddenly, Ember finds a way into the Afterworld, determined to bring Ness back.-- Provided by Publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Ember (short for December) is heartbroken when her best friend Ness (Happiness) dies suddenly. When Embers wicked uncle uses a magic map to lead Ember into a world where the dead dwell, hoping to swap Embers life for that of his beloved just-deceased dog, Ember sees his treachery as an opportunity to bring Ness back to the living world. Harrolds spare text invites slow, considered reading, with occasional passages that resemble, and read like, poetry. Gravetts illustrations, from spot art to double-page spreads, effectively use color within the shadowy and otherwise black-and-white afterworld to make it clear who belongs there and whos out of place. Though this is a standalone novel, readers of the author/illustrator pairs The Imaginary (rev. 3/15) will find familiar their ability to invent imaginatively creepy magic and use it to explore real-life emotionsin this case, the difficulty and the necessity of accepting loss. shoshana flax (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select