WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

Nocturna /

by Motayne, Maya [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019]Description: 471 pages : map ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062842732; 0062842730.Subject(s): Magic -- Fiction | Relics -- Fiction | Princes -- Fiction | Brigands and robbers -- Fiction | Action and adventure fiction | Fantasy fiction | NovelsSummary: Finn Voy is a faceshifter who got caught in a compromising position and now must steal a royal treasure or face the consequence of being stripped of her magic -- her only disguise and protection -- forever. When she runs into Alfehr, Crown Prince only because his perfect older brother was murdered, the two accidentally unleash an apocalyptic power.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: Latinx Authors Series information: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC MOT Available 39270004796250

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>The first in a sweeping and epic own voices debut fantasy trilogy--set in a stunning Latinx-inspired world--about a face-changing thief and a risk-taking prince who must team up to defeat a powerful evil they accidentally unleashed. Perfect for fans of Tomi Adeyemi, Leigh Bardugo, and V. E. Schwab. This young adult novel is an excellent choice for accelerated tween readers in grades 7 to 8, especially during homeschooling. It's a fun way to keep your child entertained and engaged while not in the classroom.<br> <br> <br> <br> To Finn Voy, magic is two things: a knife to hold under the chin of anyone who crosses her...and a disguise she shrugs on as easily as others pull on cloaks.</p> <p>As a talented faceshifter, it's been years since Finn has seen her own face, and that's exactly how she likes it. But when Finn gets caught by a powerful mobster, she's forced into an impossible mission: steal a legendary treasure from Castallan's royal palace or be stripped of her magic forever.<br> <br> <br> <br> After the murder of his older brother, Prince Alfehr is first in line for the Castallan throne. But Alfie can't help but feel that he will never live up to his brother's legacy. Riddled with grief, Alfie is obsessed with finding a way to bring his brother back, even if it means dabbling in forbidden magic.<br> <br> <br> <br> But when Finn and Alfie's fates collide, they accidentally unlock a terrible, ancient power--which, if not contained, will devour the world. And with Castallan's fate in their hands, Alfie and Finn must race to vanquish what they have unleashed, even if it means facing the deepest darkness in their pasts.</p>

Finn Voy is a faceshifter who got caught in a compromising position and now must steal a royal treasure or face the consequence of being stripped of her magic -- her only disguise and protection -- forever. When she runs into Alfehr, Crown Prince only because his perfect older brother was murdered, the two accidentally unleash an apocalyptic power.

Novelist Select