Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Chocolate a la murder /

by Weiss, Kirsten [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Weiss, Kirsten, Perfectly proper paranormal museum mystery: #4.Publisher: Woodbury, Minnesota : Midnight Ink, an imprint of Llewellyn Worldwide Ltd., [2019]Edition: First edition.Description: 303 pages ; 21 cm.ISBN: 9780738757131; 0738757136.Subject(s): Murder -- Fiction | Chocolate -- Fiction | Supernatural -- Museums -- Fiction | Paranormal fiction | Fiction | Detective and mystery stories | Mystery fiction | Paranormal fiction | Detective and mystery fictionSummary: "When paranormal museum owner Maddie Kosloski stops by the artisan chocolate shop and finds the owner dead, she vows to catch the killer and silence the rattling of the haunted Mexican whisk in her Magic of Chocolate exhibit" -- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: Ice cream/sweets/treats
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Mystery M WEI Available 39270004784603

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Maddie gets rattled by a candy-coated murder.</p> <p>It's Wine and Chocolate Days in San Benedetto, and paranormal museum owner Maddie Kosloski has sweet dreams about her new Magic of Chocolate exhibit. Her latest attraction is a haunted Mexican whisk called a molinillo that rattles if someone lies.</p> <p>When Maddie visits the town's new boutique chocolate shop, she finds one of the owners dead and covered in melted cocoa. Maddie's determined to catch the killer, and she soon uncovers deadly dealings in the world of artisan chocolate. But the deception surrounding those dealings are enough to make the molinillo rattle all night. Will Maddie have to temper her passion for sleuthing before a killer makes her fate bittersweet?</p> <p>Praise for the Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum Mysteries</p> <p>Chocolate à la Murder</p> <p>"If you love cozy mysteries and want something just a tad different, Chocolote à la Murderis exactly your cup of tea! Kirsten Weiss crafts realistic and likable characters and puts them in intriguing situations. I may never think of chocolate making the same way again!"--Fresh Fiction</p> <p>Déjà Moo</p> <p>"The third volume in this engaging series (following Pressed to Death) will appeal to fans of paranormal cozies by Sofie Kelly and Christy Fifield."--Library Journal</p> <p>"Weiss' many quirky ongoing characters add charm and humor."--Kirkus Reviews</p> <p>Pressed to Death</p> <p>"Well-drawn characters and tantalizing wine talk help balance the quirky aspects of this paranormal mystery."--Publishers Weekly</p> <p>The Perfectly Proper Paranormal Museum</p> <p>"A delightful new series."--Library Journal (starred review)</p> <p>"A quirky murder mystery with plenty of small town charm."--ForeWord Reviews</p> <p>"A clever combination of characters."--Kirkus Reviews</p> <p>"Humor, hints of romance, and twists and turns galore elevate this cozy."--Publishers Weekly</p>

"When paranormal museum owner Maddie Kosloski stops by the artisan chocolate shop and finds the owner dead, she vows to catch the killer and silence the rattling of the haunted Mexican whisk in her Magic of Chocolate exhibit" -- Provided by publisher.

Excerpt provided by Syndetics

<opt> <anon I1="BLANK" I2="BLANK"><p><iframe src="//e.issuu.com/embed.html#1072528/67230619" width="300" height="150" frameborder="0" allowfullscreen="allowfullscreen"></iframe></p> Excerpted from Chocolate a la Murder by Kirsten Weiss All rights reserved by the original copyright owners. Excerpts are provided for display purposes only and may not be reproduced, reprinted or distributed without the written permission of the publisher.</anon> </opt>

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Maddie Kosloski, owner of the paranormal museum in San Benedetto, CA, has the perfect exhibition for the town's Wine and Chocolate Days. But the delicacies ordered from Reine Chocolates haven't arrived, so Maddie offers to pick them up for her business and her friend's tea room. Yet no one seems to be at Reine, other than a picketer. Maddie suddenly loses her taste for chocolate when she finds a man covered in it behind the vats, and the 911 operator asks her to do CPR. She can't forget the murder. And although she's dating a police detective, she asks enough questions that someone attempts to run her over, and she believes she's being followed. Despite warnings from her mother, the police, and even signs from her cat, Maddie's convinced that by finding the body, she's supposed to be part of solving the murder. VERDICT Weiss's follow-up to Deja Moo blends a strong sense of place with paranormal elements in a small-town cozy mystery. Fans of Juliet Blackwell or Christy Fifield will enjoy the supernatural aspects, while Dorothy St. James's chocolate-loving readers will want to sample this one.-Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN © Copyright 2019. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select