Normal view MARC view ISBD view

How to give your cat a bath in five easy steps /

by Winstanley, Nicola [author.]; Martz, John [illustrator.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: [Toronto, Ontario, Canada] : Tundra, [2019]Description: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 20 x 23 cm.ISBN: 9780735263543; 073526354X.Other title: How to give your cat a bath in 5 easy steps.Subject(s): Cats -- Juvenile fiction | Baths -- Juvenile fiction | Cats -- Fiction | Baths -- Fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Picture books | Picture books for children | Picture books | Children's stories -- Pictorial works | Picture books | Humorous fictionSummary: A little girl and her cat make an escalating mess while respectively trying to follow and resist the cat-bathing instructions of a bossy narrator.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's New Book Shelf E WIN Checked out 03/14/2020 39270004778522

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

In this hilarious and clever "how-to," a little girl and a know-it-all narrator are thwarted by a cat who refuses to take a bath. The perfect read-aloud for fans of Snappsy the Alligator and Interrupting Chicken . <br> <br> Step one: fill the bath<br> Step two: put the cat in the bath<br> Step three: put shampoo on the cat<br> Step four: rinse the cat<br> Step five: dry the cat<br> <br> Seems simple, right? One problem: the cat has no intention of doing ANY of these things! Watch as the steps keep changing, the cat keeps escaping, the girl keeps eating cookies and the mess keeps escalating. Soon it's not just the cat who needs a bath--it's the whole house!<br> <br> This spoof on an instruction manual features an increasingly bewildered human, a nonchalant cat and a know-it-all narrator . . . who really doesn't know it all. How DO you give a cat a bath? Read on to find out!

A little girl and her cat make an escalating mess while respectively trying to follow and resist the cat-bathing instructions of a bossy narrator.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

It sounds easy enough: "STEP ONE / Fill the bathtub with warm water." But nothing goes right for the girl demonstrating how to bathe her cat: the tub overflows ("OOPS!"), the cat runs away, etc. On it goes until, in a hilarious rebuke to the book's premise, the cat demonstrates one-step self-cleaning. Martz's tidy illustrations foreground each disaster's slapstick essence. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select