WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

We set the dark on fire /

by Mejia, Tehlor Kay [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, 2019.Description: 364 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062691316; 0062691317.Subject(s): Social classes -- Fiction | Secrets -- Fiction | Marriage -- Fiction | Dystopias -- Fiction | Dystopian fiction | NovelsSummary: "Dani must question everything she's worked for as she learns about the corruption of the Median government"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: LGBTQ+ Titles | Young Adult: Latinx Authors | Teen SRP 2020: Activist
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC MEJ Available 39270004774430

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"We Set the Dark on Fire burns bright. It will light the way for a new generation of rebels and lovers." --NPR</p> <p>"Mejia pens a compelling, gripping story that mirrors real world issues of immigration and equality." --Buzzfeed</p> <p>Five starred reviews!!</p> <p>In this daring and romantic fantasy debut perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Latinx authors Zoraida Córdova and Anna-Marie McLemore, society wife-in-training Dani has a great awakening after being recruited by rebel spies and falling for her biggest rival.</p> <p>At the Medio School for Girls, distinguished young women are trained for one of two roles in their polarized society. Depending on her specialization, a graduate will one day run a husband's household or raise his children. Both paths promise a life of comfort and luxury, far from the frequent political uprisings of the lower class.</p> <p>Daniela Vargas is the school's top student, but her pedigree is a lie. She must keep the truth hidden or be sent back to the fringes of society.</p> <p>And school couldn't prepare her for the difficult choices she must make after graduation, especially when she is asked to spy for a resistance group desperately fighting to bring equality to Medio.</p> <p>Will Dani cling to the privilege her parents fought to win for her, or will she give up everything she's strived for in pursuit of a free Medio--and a chance at a forbidden love?</p>

"Dani must question everything she's worked for as she learns about the corruption of the Median government"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

On the island of Medio, upper-class men have two wives: Primeras, who manage their husbands households and aid in their careers; and Segundas, responsible for the emotional and physical aspects of marriage. Seventeen-year-old Dani, the newly wed Primera to wealthy, powerful aspiring politician Mateo Garcia, has a secret that could destroy her future: the identification papers that place her origin on the advantageous side of the border wall are a forgery paid for by her parents, who envisioned a better life for her than their own. That secret allows a resistance group to blackmail Dani for information, but as she learns more about the Garcia family and her expected role, she becomes willing to help the group sans coercion. Mejias inventive dystopian world is full of clear references to our ownbut here, despite parallels with real-world immigration issues, Latinx cultural elements and Spanish-inflected language are the accepted norms on both sides of a fraught, walled border. Frequent twists and turns and questions of whom to trust make for a page-turner, as does a clandestine queer romance. Unresolved questions at the fiery end are likely to leave readers eager for the promised second half of the duology, but in the meantime, this volume brings up plenty to think about, from gender roles to wealth and privilege to the sacrifices involved in resistance. shoshana flax July/Aug p.132(c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select