Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Babymouse : skater girl /

by Holm, Jennifer L; Holm, Matthew.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Babymouse ; bk.7.Publisher: New York : Random House, ©2007Description: 91 pages : chiefly illustrations ; 19 cm.ISBN: 037593989X; 9780375939891; 0375839895; 9780375839894; 9780756983307; 0756983304; 9781417789016; 1417789018.Other title: Baby mouse : skater girl; Skater girl.Subject(s): Graphic novels | Mice -- Comic books, strips, etc | Mice -- Fiction | Cartoons and comics | Mice | Babymouse (Fictitious character) | Heroes | Mice -- Fiction | Animals -- Fiction | Graphic novels | Graphic novels -- Juvenile | Graphic novels -- Juvenile fiction | Graphic novels | Fiction | Juvenile works | Comic books, strips, etc | Comics (Graphic works) | Graphic novels | Graphic novels | Comics (Graphic works) | Graphic novelsOnline resources: Contributor biographical information | Publisher description Summary: Babymouse takes to the ice and surprises everyone with her spins and jumps. The famous Olympic coach, Coach Bearnakorva, discovers her and asks Babymouse to be her new protege. Will Babymouse's dreams of a medal come true? Or is she treading on thin ice?
List(s) this item appears in: Funny Books for Newly Independent Readers
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Graphic Novels J GN HOL, J. v.7 (Browse shelf) Checked out 04/29/2019 39270004756775
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Graphic Novels J GN HOL J. v. 7 (Browse shelf) Available 39270003489691

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

NEW YORK TIMES bestselling and Newbery Honor winning author Jennifer Holm teams up with Matthew Holm to bring you a fully illustrated graphic novel series packed with humor and kid appeal--BABYMOUSE!
nbsp;
With multiple Children's Choice awards and over 1.7 million books in print, kids, parents, and teachers agree that Babymouse is perfect for fans of Junie B. Jones, Ivy and Bean, Big Nate, Dork Diaries, and the Ramona chapter books!

Best Gymnast. Best speller. Best kazoo player. It seems everyone has a talent except Babymouse. That is, until Babymouse takes to the ice and surprises everyone with her spectacular spins and jubilant jumps. Until the famous Olympic coach, Coach Bearnakorva, discovers her and asks Babymouse to be her new protege. Will Babymouse's dreams of a medal come true? Or is she treading on thin ice? Find out in Skater Girl --the 7th hilarious, action-packed installment of the beloved Babymouse graphic novel series!

Here's what people are saying about Babymouse!

The Chicago Sun-Times:
"Move over, Superman, here comes Babymouse!"

Starred Review, The Horn Book:
"Nobody puts Babymouse in the corner!"

Booklist:
"Cute, smart, sassy Babymouse is fun and funny, and this book, like its predecessors, will draw reluctant readers as well as Babymouse fans."

The Bulletin:
"An almost absurdly likeable heroine."


From the Trade Paperback edition.

Babymouse takes to the ice and surprises everyone with her spins and jumps. The famous Olympic coach, Coach Bearnakorva, discovers her and asks Babymouse to be her new protege. Will Babymouse's dreams of a medal come true? Or is she treading on thin ice?

Accelerated Reader AR 2.2.

Accelerated Reader 2.2.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

(Primary) As she glides across the frozen pond, Babymouse daydreams about being a medal-winning figure skater. She can almost hear the roar of the crowd, the fans cheering her name, the sportscasters' excitement. But when she's actually noticed by a professional coach and told she has talent, Babymouse develops a lust for glory...which is greatly tested by the harsh reality of before- and after-school practices, a ban on cupcakes, and no free time for friends. She's committed to training with Coach Bearnakova, but exactly how much is she willing to sacrifice for the gold? In her seventh graphic novel, Babymouse leaps back into readers' hearts with her signature pink-tinted fantasies, smart-alecky narrator commentary (""Uh, Babymouse? You've never exactly been one for hard work""), and a compulsory program of humiliations (""typical"") and mock-epic battles with her possessed locker. You'd think the Holm siblings would have trouble keeping their own performance fresh, but for artistic expression, technical difficulty, and presentation they remain an eminently competitive pair. (c) Copyright 2010. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted. All rights reserved.

Novelist Select