Normal view MARC view ISBD view

96 words for love /

by Roy, Rachel [author.]; Dash, Ava [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York ; JIMMY Patterson Books, Little, Brown and Company, 2019.Edition: First edition.Description: 302 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780316477789 (alk. paper); 0316477788 (alk. paper).Other title: Ninety-six words for love.Subject(s): Coming of age -- Fiction | Ashrams -- Fiction | Cousins -- Fiction | East Indian Americans -- Fiction | Human trafficking -- Fiction | Folklore -- India -- Fiction | India -- FictionSummary: While exploring her grandmother's past at an ashram in India with her cousin Anandi, seventeen-year-old Raya finds herself and, perhaps, true love in this modern retelling of the legend of Dushyanta and Shakuntala.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC ROY Available 39270004763813

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A modern retelling of a romantic Indian legend, 96 Words for Love is a star-crossed love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also a Star and When Dimple Met Rishi . <br> Ever since her acceptance to UCLA, 17-year-old Raya Liston has been quietly freaking out. She feels simultaneously lost and trapped by a future already mapped out for her.<br> <br> Then her beloved grandmother dies, and Raya jumps at the chance to spend her last free summer at the ashram in India where her grandmother met and fell in love with her grandfather. Raya hopes to find her center and her true path. But she didn't expect to fall in love... with a country of beautiful contradictions, her fiercely loyal cousin, a local girl with a passion for reading, and a boy who teaches her that in Sanskrit, there are 96 different ways to say the word "love."<br> <br> "This book is a feast for your soul." --Deepak Chopra

"James Patterson presents"--Jacket.

While exploring her grandmother's past at an ashram in India with her cousin Anandi, seventeen-year-old Raya finds herself and, perhaps, true love in this modern retelling of the legend of Dushyanta and Shakuntala.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

There are 96 Sanskrit words to describe the word "love," and while Raya is not looking for love at an ashram in India, she finds a romantic partner as well as her calling in life. In this retelling of the Shakuntala and Dushyanta love story, Raya decides to spend the summer before college at the ashram in India where her grandparents met and fell in love. This is an appealing love story with a lot of heart. Narrator Soneela Nankani does an admirable job of characterizing a diverse cast that includes American, Indian, British, and Australian characters. VERDICT This is an additional purchase where YA romances are popular.--Jodeana Kruse, R.A. Long High School, Longview, WA

Novelist Select