Normal view MARC view ISBD view

96 words for love /

by Roy, Rachel [author.]; Dash, Ava [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York ; JIMMY Patterson Books, Little, Brown and Company, 2019.Edition: First edition.Description: 302 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780316477789 (alk. paper); 0316477788 (alk. paper).Other title: Ninety-six words for love.Subject(s): Coming of age -- Fiction | Ashrams -- Fiction | Cousins -- Fiction | East Indian Americans -- Fiction | Human trafficking -- Fiction | Folklore -- India -- Fiction | India -- FictionSummary: While exploring her grandmother's past at an ashram in India with her cousin Anandi, seventeen-year-old Raya finds herself and, perhaps, true love in this modern retelling of the legend of Dushyanta and Shakuntala.
List(s) this item appears in: #OwnVoices
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC ROY (Browse shelf) Available 39270004763813

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A modern retelling of a romantic Indian legend, 96 Words for Love is a star-crossed love story perfect for fans of The Sun is Also a Star and When Dimple Met Rishi .
Ever since her acceptance to UCLA, 17-year-old Raya Liston has been quietly freaking out. She feels simultaneously lost and trapped by a future already mapped out for her.

Then her beloved grandmother dies, and Raya jumps at the chance to spend her last free summer at the ashram in India where her grandmother met and fell in love with her grandfather. Raya hopes to find her center and her true path. But she didn't expect to fall in love... with a country of beautiful contradictions, her fiercely loyal cousin, a local girl with a passion for reading, and a boy who teaches her that in Sanskrit, there are 96 different ways to say the word "love."

"This book is a feast for your soul." --Deepak Chopra

"James Patterson presents"--Jacket.

While exploring her grandmother's past at an ashram in India with her cousin Anandi, seventeen-year-old Raya finds herself and, perhaps, true love in this modern retelling of the legend of Dushyanta and Shakuntala.

Novelist Select