Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Breaking the tongue : a novel /

by Loh, Vyvyane.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : W.W. Norton, c2004Edition: 1st ed.Description: 407 p. : map ; 25 cm.ISBN: 0393057925 :.Title notes: $24.95 6-2004 (SPM)Subject(s): World War, 1939-1945 -- Singapore -- Fiction | Singapore -- History -- Japanese occupation, 1942-1945 -- Fiction | Historical fiction | Domestic fiction | War storiesOnline resources: Table of contents
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Fiction FIC LOH Available 39270002660078

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

"This masterly novel is not only bold and challenging but also beautifully written. The reader will be left breathless by the ending."--Library Journal "A moving accomplishment."--Publishers Weekly, starred review "Vyvyane Loh's richly ambitious narrative weaves the personal and the political into an unforgettable novel."--Claire Messud "In the tradition of Rushdie or Ondaatje, this is one of the most accomplished first novels I've ever seen."--Andrea Barrett  "A revelatory book that is both novel and history, written with splendid and intelligent humanity."--Shirley Hazzard, author of The Great Fire<br> <br> This brilliant novel chronicles the fall of Singapore to the Japanese in World War II. Central to the story is one Chinese family: Claude, raised to be more British than the British and ashamed of his own herita≥ his father, Humphrey, whose Anglophilia blinds him to possible defeat and his wife's dalliances; and the redoubtable Grandma Siok, whose sage advice falls on deaf ears. Expatriates, spies, fifth columnists, and nationalists--including the elusive young woman Ling-Li--mingle in this exotic culture as the Japanese threat looms. Beset by the horror of war and betrayal and, finally, torture, Claude must embrace his true heritage. In the extraordinary final paragraphs of the novel, the language itself breaks into Chinese. With penetrating observation, Vyvyane Loh unfolds the coming-of-age story of a young man and a nation, a story that deals with myth, race, and class, with the ways language shapes perceptions, and with the intrigue and suffering of war. Reading group guide included.

Includes bibliographical references (p. [409]).

$24.95 6-2004 (SPM)

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

In this first novel from physician Loh, Singapore succumbs to the Japanese during World War II. Lots of publicity. (c) Copyright 2010. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select