Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The Christmas tree who loved trains /

by Silvestro, Annie [author.]; Zakimi, Paola [illustrator.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]Edition: First edition.Description: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 27 cm.ISBN: 0062561685; 9780062561688.Subject(s): Christmas trees -- Juvenile fiction | Railroad trains -- Juvenile fiction | Christmas stories | JUVENILE FICTION / General | Picture books | Christmas fiction | Picture books | Christmas fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Picture booksSummary: In this Christmastime tale, a little pine tree on a tree farm loves trains, and so does a little boy.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Holiday E SIL Available 39270004752709

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>A poignant Christmas tale about a tree who loved trains, and a little boy who loved them, too.</p> <p>A pine tree grew in the farthest corner of the tree farm on a small patch of land that bordered the train track. The tree loved trains. She loved to watch them ZOOM by on the tracks beside the tree farm. Her branches would ripple in the wind as the trains roared past.</p> <p>But one morning, when a little boy picks her to be his Christmas tree, she is uprooted and brought to a home far from the ZOOMING trains she loves...</p> <p>Beautiful art from Paola Zakimi brings to life this lovely Christmastime tale from Annie Silvestro, perfect for readers who love The Giving Tree and The Velveteen Rabbit.</p>

In this Christmastime tale, a little pine tree on a tree farm loves trains, and so does a little boy.

Ages 4-8.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

A little pine tree loves to watch trains go by from her spot on the edge of a Christmas tree farm. When a boy and his dad dig her up to take home, shes lonely and misses the trains. Then she wakes up on Christmas morning to find herself encircled by the tracks of a toy trainand the tree had never been happier. Better still, when Christmas is over, and the family replants her on their farm near train tracks, she now has the company not only of her beloved trains but also the little boy. The story is sweet without being saccharine, and the illustrations, in soft greens and bright reds, are homey and warm. martha v. Parravano (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select