Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The light between worlds /

by Weymouth, Laura E [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2018]Edition: First edition.Description: 351 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 0062696874; 9780062696878.Subject(s): Sisters -- Juvenile fiction | Imaginary places -- Juvenile fiction | Missing persons -- Juvenile fiction | Loss (Psychology) -- Juvenile fiction | England -- Juvenile fiction | Sisters -- Fiction | Imaginary places -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Loss (Psychology) -- Fiction | England -- Fiction | Fantasy | Fantasy fiction | Historical fiction | Novels | Novels
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC WEY Available 39270004749754

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>What happens when you return to the real world after being in a fantastical one like Narnia? This YA debut by Laura E. Weymouth is perfect for fans of Melissa Albert's The Hazel Wood and Lev Grossman's The Magicians.</p> <p>Six years ago, sisters Evelyn and Philippa Hapwell were swept away to a strange and beautiful kingdom called the Woodlands, where they lived for years. But ever since they returned to their lives in post-WWII England, they have struggled to adjust.</p> <p>Ev desperately wants to return to the Woodlands, and Philippa just wants to move on. When Ev goes missing, Philippa must confront the depth of her sister's despair and the painful truths they've been running from. As the weeks unfold, Philippa wonders if Ev truly did find a way home, or if the weight of their worlds pulled her under.</p> <p>Walking the line between where fantasy and reality meet, this lyrical and magical novel is, above all else, an exploration of loss and healing, and what it means to find where you belong.</p> <p>This edition uses deckle edges; the uneven paper edge is intentional.</p>

Includes bibliographical references.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

This fantasy in the vein of The Chronicles of Narnia explores the emotional aftermath of living out of one's own time. More than five years ago, Evelyn and her siblings escaped the London Blitz by traveling into another realm. Now, having returned to her own world, Evelyn is devastated by the loss of that life. The siblings' individual journeys to the places their hearts truly belong are poignant and nuanced. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select