Sawkill Girls /

by Legrand, Claire [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]Edition: First edition.Description: 447 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062696601; 0062696602.Subject(s): Teenage girls -- Juvenile fiction | Monsters -- Juvenile fiction | Lesbian teenagers -- Juvenile fiction | Horror stories | Fantasy | Teenage girls -- Fiction | Monsters -- Fiction | Lesbians -- Fiction | Coming of age -- Fiction | Young adult fiction | Horror fiction | Bildungsromans | Fantasy fictionSummary: "From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women ..."--From publisher website.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC LEG Available 39270004745596

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"Reader, hang on for dear life. Sawkill Girls is a wild, gorgeous, and rich coming-of-age story about complicity, female camaraderie, and power." --Sarah Gailey, author of River of Teeth</p> <p>"An eerie, atmospheric assertion of female strength." --Mindy McGinnis, author of The Female of the Species</p> <p>FIVE STARRED REVIEWS</p> <p>NAMED ONE OF YALSA'S 2019 BEST FICTION FOR YOUNG ADULTS</p> <p>A BRAM STOKER AWARD NOMINEE</p> <p>A LAMBDA LITERARY AWARD NOMINEE</p> <p>From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women. Perfect for fans of Victoria Schwab and Stranger Things.</p> <p>Who are the Sawkill Girls?</p> <p>Marion: The newbie. Awkward and plain, steady and dependable. Weighed down by tragedy and hungry for love she's sure she'll never find.</p> <p>Zoey: The pariah. Luckless and lonely, hurting but hiding it. Aching with grief and dreaming of vanished girls. Maybe she's broken--or maybe everyone else is.</p> <p>Val: The queen bee. Gorgeous and privileged, ruthless and regal. Words like silk and eyes like knives; a heart made of secrets and a mouth full of lies.</p> <p>Their stories come together on the island of Sawkill Rock, where gleaming horses graze in rolling pastures and cold waves crash against black cliffs. Where kids whisper the legend of an insidious monster at parties and around campfires. Where girls have been disappearing for decades, stolen away by a ravenous evil no one has dared to fight...until now.</p>

"From the New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn comes a breathtaking and spine-tingling novel about three teenage girls who face off against an insidious monster that preys upon young women ..."--From publisher website.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Sawkill Rock is an idyllic-seeming island--where young women disappear. Marion's family moves to Sawkill after her father's death, and shortly thereafter, her sister vanishes. Marion and two island girls, Val and Zoey, are pulled into the discomfiting mystery. All three characters are compelling, and readers will be unnerved and horrified as they get closer to the truth. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select