Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The haunted serpent /

by Mitchell, Dora M [author,].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Sterling Children's Books, [2018]Description: 234 pages : illustrations ; 21 cm.ISBN: 9781454927853; 1454927852.Subject(s): Detective and mystery stories | Boa constrictor -- Juvenile fiction | Grave robbing -- Juvenile fiction | Mystery and detective stories | Boa constrictor -- Fiction | Grave robbing -- Fiction | JUVENILE FICTION / Horror | JUVENILE FICTION / Mysteries & Detective Stories | JUVENILE FICTION / Paranormal, Occult & Supernatural | Mystery fiction | Detective and mystery fiction | Novels | Detective and mystery fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | NovelsSummary: New kid in school Spaulding Meriwether teams with cool kid Marietta, her euphonium-playing sister Lucy, and popular jock Kenny to investigate a mysterious boa constrictor that lives next door to Spaulding that may have eaten its owner.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J MIT Available 39270004733584

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

"Fans of Dan Poblocki, John Bellairs, and R.L. Stine will all be right at home and smiling at the shivers (and the jokes)." - Kirkus <br> <br> Welcome to Thedgeroot, where Spaulding Meriwether is on a quest to make friends, become cool . . . and figure out why dead people are running around. <br> <br> "You know how people always tell you 'just be yourself?' That's terrible advice. You won't survive middle school that way. Trust me." <br> <br> Spaulding Meriwether, Thedgeroot Middle School's new resident weirdo and son of questionable television ghost hunters, just wants to fit in. But after a revenant chases him through the woods, Spaulding suspects there's something afoot in Thedgeroot. (At least he thinks it's a foot. Maybe it was a hand. It's hard to tell when you're running away.) Then he notices the chimneys of the abandoned factory at the edge of town puffing smoke--and his dead next-door neighbor materializes, along with David, the missing pet boa constrictor that supposedly ate him. Spaulding can't help wondering if these strange happenings have anything to do with his undead friends in the forest. Of course, Spaulding just has to investigate--but he may be biting off more than he can chew . . . .<br> <br> Kids will love this hilariously creepy illustrated middle-grade novel!<br> <br> "A spooky, high-interest adventure..."-- School Library Journal <br> . . . engaging and goosebump inducing." -- Booklist <br>

New kid in school Spaulding Meriwether teams with cool kid Marietta, her euphonium-playing sister Lucy, and popular jock Kenny to investigate a mysterious boa constrictor that lives next door to Spaulding that may have eaten its owner.

Novelist Select