Normal view MARC view ISBD view

How to be perfect like me /

by Bowman, Dana (Blogger) [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Las Vegas, NV : Central Recovery Press, 2018.Description: 198 pages ; 23 cm.ISBN: 9781942094715; 194209471X.Subject(s): Bowman, Dana (Blogger) | Recovering alcoholics -- Biography | Motherhood -- Humor | Conduct of life -- Humor | Biography | HumorSummary: Striving for perfection in her life, Dana Bowman has the startling realization that recovery is not only about the alcohol.
List(s) this item appears in: Comedy/Humor
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Biography BIO BOW, D. (Browse shelf) Available 39270004735738

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Recover. Rinse. Repeat.</p> <p>Dana Bowman can't escape the lure of perfectionism, trying to be a flawless wife, mother, and person in recovery. When Dana experiences a short-lived relapse during the Christmas holiday, she has the startling realization that recovery is more than just giving up alcohol. In this funny and revealing follow-up to her best-selling book Bottled , Dana reflects on how we live in a society of excess, always pushing ourselves to do and be better. However, it doesn't take her long to realize that self-care and getting over herself is the key to happiness.</p> Written with humor and laugh-out-loud sarcasm offering a refreshing perspective on an issue affecting everyone in society Dana Bowman's first book, Bottled: A Mom's Guide to Early Recovery , published by Central Recovery Press, was chosen as a 2016 Kansas Notable Book. Author is a prolific and personable writer with a rapidly growing following and social media presence. Her successful site momsieblog.com receives up to 12,000 visitors a month.

Striving for perfection in her life, Dana Bowman has the startling realization that recovery is not only about the alcohol.

Table of contents provided by Syndetics

  • Introduction (p. 1)
  • Part 1 Less (p. 5)
  • Chapter 1 How to Be Perfect (p. 7)
  • Chapter 2 How to Stop Buying All the Self-Help Books (p. 15)
  • Chapter 3 How to Be an Alcoholic (p. 23)
  • Chapter 4 How Not to Be an Alcoholic (p. 33)
  • Chapter 5 How to Relapse in Footie Pajamas (p. 41)
  • Chapter 6 How to Master the Ugly Cry (p. 55)
  • Chapter 7 How to Deal with Relentless Disappointment (p. 63)
  • Chapter 8 How to Live a Rich and Fulfilling Fake Life (p. 73)
  • Chapter 9 How to Recover from Being Human (p. 85)
  • Chapter 10 How to Be Cool (p. 99)
  • Part 2 More (p. 107)
  • Chapter 11 How to Shop at Costco and Not Give In to Despair (p. 109)
  • Chapter 12 How to Be Married and Content at the Same Time (p. 117)
  • Chapter 13 How to Escape Your Family (p. 131)
  • Chapter 14 How to Fire Your Inner Bartender (p. 141)
  • Part 3 Enough (p. 155)
  • Chapter 15 How to Be Sad (p. 157)
  • Chapter 16 How to Be Happy (p. 167)
  • Chapter 17 How to Say No and How to Say Yes (p. 181)
  • Chapter 18 How to Cry at a Coffee Shop (p. 193)
  • Acknowledgments (p. 197)

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

English professor, blogger, and author (Bottled: A Mom's Guide to Early Recovery) -Bowman's memoir covers the topics of parenting and recovery with candor and honesty. As is obvious from the title, the author is not actually offering a step-by-step guide to anything in particular. She is making the case that perfectionism is an enemy to recovery and happiness. The many short chapters, with often hilarious titles, such as "How To Relapse in Footie Pajamas" or "How To Cry at a Coffee Shop," mainly consist of anecdotes within an achronological narrative that at times feels downright scattered. Imperfection is the thematic thread that holds Bowman's stories together. Some readers might be frustrated by how frequently she changes topics, but one could argue that the nonlinear text accurately reflects the messy experience of recovery. VERDICT Readers in recovery who are looking for relatable stories will enjoy this book. Bowman's brand of humor (highly personal, a bit outlandish, and often infused with pop-culture references) will appeal to fans of Jenny Lawson.-Emily Butler, Deerfield Academy, MA © Copyright 2018. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select