Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A thousand beginnings and endings : 15 retellings of Asian myths and legends /

by Oh, Ellen [editor.]; Chapman, Elsie [editor.]; Chokshi, Roshani; Wong, Alyssa; Lee, Lori M; Charaipotra, Sona; Bodard, Aliette de; Myers, E. C. (Eugene C.); Saeed, Aisha; Ahdieh, Renée; Kanakia, Rahul; Chhibber, Preeti.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]Description: 328 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062671158; 0062671154.Subject(s): Mythology, Asian -- Juvenile fiction | Tales -- Asia -- Juvenile fiction | Short stories, American | Mythology, Asian -- Fiction | Folklore -- Asia -- Fiction | Fantasy | Short stories | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Anthologies | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Fairy Tales & Folklore / Country & Ethnic | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Legends, Myths, Fables | Asia -- Fiction | Short stories | Folk tales | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Folk tales | Juvenile works | Short stories | Short stories
Contents:
Forbidden fruit (Filipino) / by Roshani Chokshi -- Olivia's table (Chinese) / by Alyssa Wong -- Steel skin (Hmong) / by Lori M. Lee -- Still star-crossed (Punjabi) / by Sona Charaipotra -- Counting the vermillion beads (Vietnamese) / by Aliette De Bodard -- The Land of the Morning Calm (Korean) / by E. C. Myers -- The smile (South Asian) / by Aisha Saeed -- Girls who twirl and other dangers (Gujarati) / by Preeti Chhibber -- Nothing into all (Korean) / by Renee Ahdieh -- Spear carrier (South Asian) / by Rahul Kanakia -- Code of honor (Filipino) / by Melissa De La Cruz -- Bullet, butterfly (Chinese) / by Elsie Chapman -- Daughter of the Sun (South Asian) / by Shveta Thakrar -- The Crimson cloak (Chinese) / by Cindy Pon -- Eyes like candlelight (Japanese) / by Julie Kagawa.
Summary: Fifteen authors of Asian descent reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia, in short stories ranging from fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge.
List(s) this item appears in: #OwnVoices
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA SF THO (Browse shelf) Available 39270004728212

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Star-crossed lovers, meddling immortals, feigned identities, battles of wits, and dire warnings: these are the stuff of fairy tale, myth, and folklore that have drawn us in for centuries.

Fifteen bestselling and acclaimed authors reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia in short stories that are by turns enchanting, heartbreaking, romantic, and passionate.

Compiled by We Need Diverse Books's Ellen Oh and Elsie Chapman, the authors included in this exquisite collection are: Renée Ahdieh, Sona Charaipotra, Preeti Chhibber, Roshani Chokshi, Aliette de Bodard, Melissa de la Cruz, Julie Kagawa, Rahul Kanakia, Lori M. Lee, E. C. Myers, Cindy Pon, Aisha Saeed, Shveta Thakrar, and Alyssa Wong.

A mountain loses her heart. Two sisters transform into birds to escape captivity. A young man learns the true meaning of sacrifice. A young woman takes up her mother's mantle and leads the dead to their final resting place.

From fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge, these stories will beguile readers from start to finish. For fans of Neil Gaiman's Unnatural Creatures and Ameriie's New York Times-bestselling Because You Love to Hate Me.

Forbidden fruit (Filipino) / by Roshani Chokshi -- Olivia's table (Chinese) / by Alyssa Wong -- Steel skin (Hmong) / by Lori M. Lee -- Still star-crossed (Punjabi) / by Sona Charaipotra -- Counting the vermillion beads (Vietnamese) / by Aliette De Bodard -- The Land of the Morning Calm (Korean) / by E. C. Myers -- The smile (South Asian) / by Aisha Saeed -- Girls who twirl and other dangers (Gujarati) / by Preeti Chhibber -- Nothing into all (Korean) / by Renee Ahdieh -- Spear carrier (South Asian) / by Rahul Kanakia -- Code of honor (Filipino) / by Melissa De La Cruz -- Bullet, butterfly (Chinese) / by Elsie Chapman -- Daughter of the Sun (South Asian) / by Shveta Thakrar -- The Crimson cloak (Chinese) / by Cindy Pon -- Eyes like candlelight (Japanese) / by Julie Kagawa.

Fifteen authors of Asian descent reimagine the folklore and mythology of East and South Asia, in short stories ranging from fantasy to science fiction to contemporary, from romance to tales of revenge.

Table of contents provided by Syndetics

  • From the Editors (p. 1)
  • Forbidden Fruit (p. 5)
  • Olivia's Table (p. 20)
  • Steel Skin (p. 47)
  • Still Star-Crossed (p. 73)
  • The Counting of Vermillion Beads (p. 90)
  • The Land of the Morning Calm (p. 109)
  • The Smile (p. 139)
  • Girls Who Twirl and Other Dangers (p. 155)
  • Nothing into All (p. 184)
  • Spear Carrier (p. 202)
  • Code of Honor (p. 224)
  • Bullet Butterfly (p. 238)
  • Daughter of the Sun (p. 259)
  • The Crimson Cloak (p. 282)
  • Eyes like Candlelight (p. 302)
  • Author Biographies (p. 324)

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Fifteen authors of East and South Asian descent present original short stories inspired by culture-specific tales from their own childhoods; immediately following each story, the authors provide synopses and/or other information about their source material. The Hmong cautionary tale The Woman and the Tiger spawns a dystopian story of an android uprising (Steel Skin by Lori M. Lee). From the South Korean epic myth Chasa Bonpuli springs a story of a daughters mourning, a role-playing video game, and the blurred line between reality and virtual reality (The Land of the Morning Calm by E. C. Myers). Aswang, the Filipino creature of the night, inspires the quest of a modern-day teen girl vampire in New York City (Code of Honor by Melissa de la Cruz). Middle-school friendship drama has its origin in the Gujarati tale of the goddess Durga (Girls Who Twirl and Other Dangers by Preeti Chhibber). All of the stories achieve emotional depth and connection while showcasing each storytellers unique literary voice. The co-editors choice to preserve the many culturally authentic words and expressions used throughout, even if unfamiliar to outsiders (and without the interruption of those pesky parenthetical English translations), allows fluidity in the storytelling. It also shows respect to young readers who are more than capable of deciphering meanings from context or looking up definitions to gain even richer understandings of the tales and their cultural bases. roxanne hsu Feldman (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select