Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Hello universe /

by Kelly, Erin Entrada [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]Edition: First edition.Description: 313 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062414151; 0062414151.Subject(s): Friendship in children -- Juvenile fiction | Missing children -- Juvenile fiction | Bullying -- Juvenile fiction | Hearing impaired -- Juvenile fiction | Psychic ability -- Juvenile fiction | Sisters -- Juvenile fiction | Friendship -- Fiction | Missing children -- Fiction | Bullying -- Fiction | Hearing impaired -- Fiction | Psychic ability -- Fiction | Sisters -- Fiction | JUVENILE FICTION -- Social Issues -- Friendship | JUVENILE FICTION -- Social Issues -- Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance | JUVENILE FICTION -- Social Issues -- Special Needs | John Newbery Medal book award: Winner -- 2018 | Young adult works | Fiction | Juvenile works | Young adult fiction | Juvenile worksAwards: Junior Library Guild selection.Awards: Newbery Medal, 2018Awards: School Library Journal's Best Books, 2017Summary: Lives of four misfits are intertwined when a bully's prank lands shy Virgil at the bottom of a well and Valencia, Kaori, and Gen band together in an epic quest to find and rescue him.
List(s) this item appears in: YA Books about Bullying Awards: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC KEL (Browse shelf) Checked out 12/22/2018 39270004723486
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC KEL (Browse shelf) Available 39270004698928

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Winner of the Newbery Medal

"A charming, intriguingly plotted novel."--Washington Post

Newbery Medalist Erin Entrada Kelly's Hello, Universe is a funny and poignant neighborhood story about unexpected friendships.

Told from four intertwining points of view--two boys and two girls--the novel celebrates bravery, being different, and finding your inner bayani (hero). "Readers will be instantly engrossed in this relatable neighborhood adventure and its eclectic cast of misfits."--Booklist

In one day, four lives weave together in unexpected ways. Virgil Salinas is shy and kindhearted and feels out of place in his crazy-about-sports family. Valencia Somerset, who is deaf, is smart, brave, and secretly lonely, and she loves everything about nature. Kaori Tanaka is a self-proclaimed psychic, whose little sister, Gen, is always following her around. And Chet Bullens wishes the weird kids would just stop being so different so he can concentrate on basketball.

They aren't friends, at least not until Chet pulls a prank that traps Virgil and his pet guinea pig at the bottom of a well. This disaster leads Kaori, Gen, and Valencia on an epic quest to find missing Virgil. Through luck, smarts, bravery, and a little help from the universe, a rescue is performed, a bully is put in his place, and friendship blooms.

The acclaimed and award-winning author of Blackbird Fly and The Land of Forgotten Girls writes with an authentic, humorous, and irresistible tween voice that will appeal to fans of Thanhha Lai and Rita Williams-Garcia.

"Readers across the board will flock to this book that has something for nearly everyone--humor, bullying, self-acceptance, cross-generational relationships, and a smartly fateful ending."--School Library Journal

Lives of four misfits are intertwined when a bully's prank lands shy Virgil at the bottom of a well and Valencia, Kaori, and Gen band together in an epic quest to find and rescue him.

690L Lexile.

Accelerated Reader MG 4.7 6.0 187756.

AR MG 4.7 6.0.

Accelerated Reader AR MG 4.7 6 187756.

Junior Library Guild selection.

Newbery Medal, 2018

School Library Journal's Best Books, 2017

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Virgil is bullied by classmate Chet, who calls him "retardo." Valencia feels like an outsider because she's deaf. Kaori is a self-proclaimed psychic. When Chet drops Virgil's backpack into an abandoned well, Virgil gets stuck trying to retrieve it; Kaori and Valencia investigate Virgil's whereabouts. Told in alternating perspectives of the three kid-heroes and one villain, the children's inner lives are distinctive. (c) Copyright 2017. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select