Contagion /

by Bowman, Erin [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Achlys: Publisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]Edition: First edition.Description: 423 pages : illustration ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062574145; 0062574140.Subject(s): Epidemics -- Fiction | Interplanetary voyages -- Fiction | Rescue work -- Fiction | Science fiction | Interplanetary voyages -- Fiction | Extraterrestrial bases -- Fiction | Rescue work -- Fiction | Epidemics -- Fiction | Telepathy -- Fiction | Science fiction | Horror fiction | Young adult fiction | Science fiction | Science fictionSummary: After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission. When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project--including its members' dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried--and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA SF BOW Available 39270004724021

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Edgar Award Nominee for Best Young Adult Mystery</p> <p>Perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, Jonathan Maberry, and horror films like 28 Days Later and Resident Evil, this pulse-pounding, hair-raising, utterly terrifying novel is the first in a duology from the critically acclaimed author of the Taken trilogy.</p> <p>After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission.</p> <p>When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project--including its members' dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried--and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.</p> <p>ADVANCE PRAISE FOR CONTAGION:</p> <p>"Gripping, thrilling and terrifying in equal measures, Contagion is the perfect intersection of science fiction and horror--I couldn't look away."--Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling author of Illuminae and Unearthed</p> <p>"Few understand the true horror that lies in the empty unknown of space, but Erin Bowman nails it in Contagion. Read this one with the lights on!"--Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of the Across the Universe series and Star Wars: Rebel Rising</p> <p>"Erin Bowman's Contagion is everything I want in my science fiction: a cast of smart characters on a desperate rescue mission forced to confront an elusive and unstoppable enemy. I absolutely loved this layered and thrilling adventure and can't wait to dive back into this world again."--Veronica Rossi, New York Times bestselling author of the Under the Never Sky series</p>

After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission. When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project--including its members' dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried--and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

An unfit crew answers a distress call from a drilling operation on the horrific planet Achlys and finds everyone dead--except for one boy. As the crew members uncover the history of Black Quarry, it becomes clear that one of them has a personal connection with this terrible place. Well-paced and tense, Bowman's novel is a successful mash-up of bio-horror and industrial science fiction. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select