WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

Contagion /

by Bowman, Erin [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Achlys: Publisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2018]Edition: First edition.Description: 423 pages : illustration ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062574145; 0062574140.Subject(s): Epidemics -- Fiction | Interplanetary voyages -- Fiction | Rescue work -- Fiction | Science fiction | Interplanetary voyages -- Fiction | Extraterrestrial bases -- Fiction | Rescue work -- Fiction | Epidemics -- Fiction | Telepathy -- Fiction | Science fiction | Horror fiction | Young adult fiction | Science fiction | Science fictionSummary: After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission. When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project--including its members' dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried--and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA SF BOW Checked out 10/15/2020 39270004724021

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Edgar Award Nominee for Best Young Adult Mystery</p> <p>Perfect for fans of Madeleine Roux, Jonathan Maberry, and horror films like 28 Days Later and Resident Evil, this pulse-pounding, hair-raising, utterly terrifying novel is the first in a duology from the critically acclaimed author of the Taken trilogy.</p> <p>After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission.</p> <p>When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project--including its members' dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried--and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.</p> <p>ADVANCE PRAISE FOR CONTAGION:</p> <p>"Gripping, thrilling and terrifying in equal measures, Contagion is the perfect intersection of science fiction and horror--I couldn't look away."--Amie Kaufman, New York Times bestselling author of Illuminae and Unearthed</p> <p>"Few understand the true horror that lies in the empty unknown of space, but Erin Bowman nails it in Contagion. Read this one with the lights on!"--Beth Revis, New York Times bestselling author of the Across the Universe series and Star Wars: Rebel Rising</p> <p>"Erin Bowman's Contagion is everything I want in my science fiction: a cast of smart characters on a desperate rescue mission forced to confront an elusive and unstoppable enemy. I absolutely loved this layered and thrilling adventure and can't wait to dive back into this world again."--Veronica Rossi, New York Times bestselling author of the Under the Never Sky series</p>

After receiving a distress call from a drill team on a distant planet, a skeleton crew is sent into deep space to perform a standard search-and-rescue mission. When they arrive, they find the planet littered with the remains of the project--including its members' dead bodies. As they try to piece together what could have possibly decimated an entire project, they discover that some things are best left buried--and some monsters are only too ready to awaken.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

An unfit crew answers a distress call from a drilling operation on the horrific planet Achlys and finds everyone dead--except for one boy. As the crew members uncover the history of Black Quarry, it becomes clear that one of them has a personal connection with this terrible place. Well-paced and tense, Bowman's novel is a successful mash-up of bio-horror and industrial science fiction. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select