Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Black boy/white school /

by Walker, Brian F [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : HarperTeen, [2012]Edition: 1st ed.Description: 246 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780061914836; 0061914835.Subject(s): Identity (Philosophical concept) -- Juvenile fiction | African Americans -- Juvenile fiction | Race relations -- Juvenile fiction | Preparatory schools -- Juvenile fiction | Maine -- Juvenile fiction | Identity -- Fiction | African Americans -- Fiction | Race relations -- Fiction | Preparatory schools -- Fiction | High schools -- Fiction | Schools -- Fiction | Maine -- Fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Teen fictionSummary: When fourteen-year-old Anthony "Ant" Jones from the ghetto of East Cleveland, Ohio, gets a scholarship to a prep school in Maine, he finds that he must change his image and adapt to a world that never fully accepts him, but when he goes home he discovers that he no longer truly belongs there either.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: Black & African American Authors
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Bob Lucas Memorial Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction BRANCH YA FIC WAL Available 39270004677658

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>In a hard-hitting novel about fitting in--or not--Anthony "Ant" Jones gets transported from his East Cleveland hood to an almost all-white prep school and has to figure out where he belongs...before he loses himself entirely. Black Boy White School is a memorable debut that will appeal to fans of Walter Dean Myers and Sherman Alexie.</p> <p>Anthony has never been outside his rough neighborhood when he receives a scholarship to Belton Academy, an elite prep school in Maine. But at Belton things are far from perfect. Everyone calls him "Tony," assumes he's from Brooklyn, expects him to play basketball, and yet acts shocked when he fights back.</p> <p>As Anthony tries to adapt to a world that will never fully accept him, he's in for a rude awakening: Home is becoming a place where he no longer belongs.</p> <p>In debut author Brian F. Walker's honest and dynamic novel about staying true to yourself, Anthony might find a way to survive at Belton, but what will it cost him?</p>

Novel.

When fourteen-year-old Anthony "Ant" Jones from the ghetto of East Cleveland, Ohio, gets a scholarship to a prep school in Maine, he finds that he must change his image and adapt to a world that never fully accepts him, but when he goes home he discovers that he no longer truly belongs there either.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

After witnessing his friend Mookie's brains splatter on the ground like "chewed bubblegum" in his East Cleveland neighborhood, Anthony Jones agrees to accept a scholarship to a private academy in central Maine. Walker uses authentic street language (sometimes graphic) to explore complex issues as Anthony struggles to find his identity in a foreign environment. (c) Copyright 2012. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select