WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

The poet X /

by Acevedo, Elizabeth [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2018.Edition: First edition.Description: 361 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062662804.Subject(s): Poets -- Fiction | Harlem (New York, N.Y.) -- Fiction | Novels in verseSummary: When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: Latinx Authors Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC ACE Available 39270004678763

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Winner of the National Book Award for Young People's Literature, the Michael L. Printz Award, and the Pura Belpré Award!</p> <p>Fans of Jacqueline Woodson, Meg Medina, and Jason Reynolds will fall hard for this astonishing New York Times-bestselling novel-in-verse by an award-winning slam poet, about an Afro-Latina heroine who tells her story with blazing words and powerful truth.</p> <p>Xiomara Batista feels unheard and unable to hide in her Harlem neighborhood. Ever since her body grew into curves, she has learned to let her fists and her fierceness do the talking.</p> <p>But Xiomara has plenty she wants to say, and she pours all her frustration and passion onto the pages of a leather notebook, reciting the words to herself like prayers--especially after she catches feelings for a boy in her bio class named Aman, who her family can never know about.</p> <p>With Mami's determination to force her daughter to obey the laws of the church, Xiomara understands that her thoughts are best kept to herself. So when she is invited to join her school's slam poetry club, she doesn't know how she could ever attend without her mami finding out. But she still can't stop thinking about performing her poems.</p> <p>Because in the face of a world that may not want to hear her, Xiomara refuses to be silent.</p> <p>"Crackles with energy and snaps with authenticity and voice." --Justina Ireland, author of Dread Nation</p> <p>"An incredibly potent debut." --Jason Reynolds, author of the National Book Award Finalist Ghost</p> <p>"Acevedo has amplified the voices of girls en el barrio who are equal parts goddess, saint, warrior, and hero." --Ibi Zoboi, author of American Street</p>

When Xiomara Batista, who pours all her frustrations and passion into poetry, is invited to join the school slam poetry club, she struggles with her mother's expectations and her need to be heard.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Fifteen-year-old Xiomara, a self-described "brown and big and angry" Dominican girl from Harlem, finds peace in writing poetry. The slow-burning suspense of what will transpire when devout Catholic Mami discovers Xiomara's clandestine relationship with a classmate is eclipsed only by the devastation that occurs when Mami reads Xiomara's candid poetry journal. Acevedo's debut verse novel is an arresting portrait of a young poet coming into her own. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select