Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Children of blood and bone /

by Adeyemi, Tomi [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Children of Orisha: 1.Publisher: New York : Henry Holt and Company, 2018.Edition: First edition.Description: 531 pages : maps ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9781250170972; 1250170974.Subject(s): Brothers and sisters -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Prejudices -- Fiction | Government, Resistance to -- Fiction | Brothers and sisters -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | Prejudices -- Fiction | Government, Resistance to -- Fiction | Fantasy | Youths' writings | YOUNG ADULT FICTION -- Fantasy -- General | YOUNG ADULT FICTION -- Legends, Myths, Fables -- General | YOUNG ADULT FICTION -- Social Themes -- Prejudice & Racism | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Novels | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fiction | NovelsSummary: Seventeen-year-old Zélie, her older brother Tzain, and rogue princess Amari fight to restore magic to the land and activate a new generation of magi, but they are ruthlessly pursued by the crown prince, who believes the return of magic will mean the end of the monarchy.
List(s) this item appears in: YA Reading Takes you Everywhere | #OwnVoices Series information: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Copy number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC ADE (Browse shelf) Checked out 01/24/2019 39270004729145
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC ADE (Browse shelf) Available 39270004677138
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC ADE (Browse shelf) 2 Checked out 01/09/2019 39270003933680
Books Books Bob Lucas Memorial Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf BRANCH YA SF ADE (Browse shelf) Available 39270004721480

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Instant New York Times Bestseller
New York Times Notable Children's Books of 2018
TIME Top 10 Best YA and Children's Books of 2018
NPR 's Book Concierge 2018 Great Reads List
Buzzfeed's 24 Best YA Books of 2018
Bustle's Top 25 Best Young Adults Books of 2018
2018 Kirkus Prize Finalist
YALSA William C. Morris YA Debut Award Finalist
Paste Magazine's 30 Best YA Novels of 2018
Newsweek's 61 Best Books from 2018
Boston Globe's Best Children's Books of 2018
Publishers Weekly Best YA Books of 2018
School Library Journal Best Books of 2018

With five starred reviews, Tomi Adeyemi's West African-inspired fantasy debut, and instant #1 New York Times Bestseller, conjures a world of magic and danger, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo and Sabaa Tahir.

They killed my mother.
They took our magic.
They tried to bury us.

Now we rise.

Zélie Adebola remembers when the soil of Orïsha hummed with magic. Burners ignited flames, Tiders beckoned waves, and Zélie's Reaper mother summoned forth souls.

But everything changed the night magic disappeared. Under the orders of a ruthless king, maji were killed, leaving Zélie without a mother and her people without hope.

Now Zélie has one chance to bring back magic and strike against the monarchy. With the help of a rogue princess, Zélie must outwit and outrun the crown prince, who is hell-bent on eradicating magic for good.

Danger lurks in Orïsha, where snow leoponaires prowl and vengeful spirits wait in the waters. Yet the greatest danger may be Zélie herself as she struggles to control her powers and her growing feelings for an enemy.

"A phenomenon." -- Entertainment Weekly

"The epic I've been waiting for." -- New York Times -bestselling author Marie Lu

"You will be changed. You will be ready to rise up and reclaim your own magic!" -- New York Times -bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton

"The next big thing in literature and film." -- Ebony

"One of the biggest young adult fiction debut book deals of theyear." -- Teen Vogue

This title has Common Core connections.

#1 New York Times bestseller , March 14, 2018

Maps on lining papers.

Includes bibliographical references.

Seventeen-year-old Zélie, her older brother Tzain, and rogue princess Amari fight to restore magic to the land and activate a new generation of magi, but they are ruthlessly pursued by the crown prince, who believes the return of magic will mean the end of the monarchy.

Young adult.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

When magic suddenly disappears from the kingdom of Orsha, King Saran seizes the chance to murder all the maji (rare and powerful magic-wielders), leaving alive only the divners (children born to be maji but too young to have yet developed their powers). Eleven years later, Zlie, a divner whose mother was murdered in the raid, is at the market when Sarans daughter Amari begs for her help. The princess has stolen a magical scroll, which, when Zlie touches it, awakens her power to command the dead. Joined by Zlies brother Tzain and pursued by Amaris brother Inan (whose own power comes to life when he accidentally touches the scroll), Zlie and Amari set out to use the scroll to restore magic to Orsha permanently. Zlie, Amari, and Inan share narrative duties, and each has a compelling growth arc, particularly Zlie, whose initial self-doubt is eased by reliance on her hard-won martial skills and her increasing love of magic, but who suffers a paralyzing crisis of confidence at the climax. The delicious romantic tension that develops between Zlie and Inan and between Amari and Tzain adds extra layers of complication and reader engagement. References to Nigerian culture and geography (Yoruba is the language of magic here) give this fantasy a distinct flavor, further distinguished by the intensity of emotion evoked by the impassioned (if occasionally overly dramatic) prose. anita l. burkam (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select