Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The afterlife of Holly Chase /

by Hand, Cynthia [author.]; Dickens, Charles.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2017.Edition: First edition.Description: 389 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062318503; 0062318500.Subject(s): Christmas stories | Death -- Juvenile fiction | Future life -- Juvenile fiction | Ghost stories | Selfishness -- Juvenile fiction | Christmas -- Fiction | Death -- Fiction | Ghosts -- Fiction | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Ghost Stories | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Romance / Paranormal | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Death & Dying | Fiction | Juvenile works | Ghost stories | Paranormal fiction | Christmas storiesSummary: After being visited by three ghosts on Christmas Eve, Holly Chase chooses not to mend her spoiled ways. Upon her death Holly discovers her selfishness has caused her to work for eternity as a ghost of Christmas past. Every year Project Scrooge saves another miserly grouch, and Holly stays frozen at seventeen while her family and friends go on living without her. But this year, everything is about to change....
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC HAN Available 39270004661843

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Before I Fall meets "bah, humbug" in this contemporary YA reimagining of A Christmas Carol from New York Times bestselling author Cynthia Hand.</p> <p>On Christmas Eve five years ago, seventeen-year-old Holly Chase was visited by three Ghosts who showed her how selfish and spoiled she'd become. They tried to convince her to mend her ways. She didn't. And then she died.</p> <p>Now she's stuck working for the top-secret company Project Scrooge--as their latest Ghost of Christmas Past. So far, Holly's afterlife has been miserable. But this year's Scrooge is different. This year's Scrooge might change everything...</p> <p>The Afterlife of Holly Chase is a witty, poignant, and insightful novel about life, love, and seizing second (or third) chances, perfect for readers who loved Before I Fall or Dash & Lily's Book of Dares.</p>

After being visited by three ghosts on Christmas Eve, Holly Chase chooses not to mend her spoiled ways. Upon her death Holly discovers her selfishness has caused her to work for eternity as a ghost of Christmas past. Every year Project Scrooge saves another miserly grouch, and Holly stays frozen at seventeen while her family and friends go on living without her. But this year, everything is about to change....

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

After cynical, materialistic Holly scoffs at her own Christmas Eve spectral visitation, she dies and must work as a ghost for a secret company called Project Scrooge to redeem other "Scrooges." This is A Christmas Carol meets Dead like Me; Hand balances sly humor (e.g., the tedium of a first job in the afterlife) with romance and holiday spirit. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select