Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Ranger's apprentice : the lost stories /

by Flanagan, John (John Anthony).
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Flanagan, John Ranger's apprentice: Publisher: New York : Philomel Books, ©2011Description: 422 pages : map ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780399256189 :; 0399256180.Title notes: $17.99 (g) 12-2015 (db)Subject(s): Apprentices -- Juvenile fiction | War stories | Apprentices -- Fiction | War -- Fiction | Fantasy | Fiction | Juvenile works | War stories | Fantasy fiction
Contents:
Death of a hero -- The inkwell and the dagger -- The roamers -- Purple prose -- Dinner for five -- The bridal dance -- The hibernian -- The wolf -- And about time, too ... -- The fragment.
Summary: In 1896, an archaeological dig unearths an ancient trunk containing manuscripts that confirm the existence of Araluen Rangers Will and Halt and tell of their first meeting and some of their previously unknown exploits.
Series information: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J FLA Checked out 05/05/2020 00:00 39270004660159
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J FLA J. Checked out 05/05/2020 00:00 39270003855073

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

The secret history of the New York Times bestselling Ranger's Apprentice, with over 5 million copies sold in the U.S. alone !<br> <br> Unconfirmed accounts of a group of Araluen warriors - tales of adventure, battle, and triumph over evil - have spread for centuries throughout the known world. Most notable is a clan shrouded in mystery, phantom warriors known as the Rangers.<br> <br> Two names pass the lips of every storyteller: Halt, and his apprentice, Will. They and their comrades in arms are said to have traveled throughout the kingdom and beyond its borders, protecting those who needed it most. If true, these rumors can be only part of the story.<br> <br> Only now, centuries after these men and women walked the earth, do we have confirmation of their existence. Behold The Lost Stories, Book 11 in the Ranger's Apprentice epic.<br> <br> Perfect for fans of J.R.R. Tolkien's Lord of the Rings, T.H. White's The Sword in the Stone, Christopher Paolini's Eragon series, and George R. R. Martin's Game of Thrones / A Song of Ice and Fire series.

Death of a hero -- The inkwell and the dagger -- The roamers -- Purple prose -- Dinner for five -- The bridal dance -- The hibernian -- The wolf -- And about time, too ... -- The fragment.

In 1896, an archaeological dig unearths an ancient trunk containing manuscripts that confirm the existence of Araluen Rangers Will and Halt and tell of their first meeting and some of their previously unknown exploits.

Accelerated Reader 6.0.

$17.99 (g) 12-2015 (db)

Excerpt provided by Syndetics

<opt> <anon I1="BLANK" I2="BLANK">It had been a long, hard three days. Will had been on a tour of the villages surrounding Castle Redmont. It was something he did on a regular basis, keeping in touch with the villagers and their headmen, keeping track of the everyday goings-on. Sometimes, he had learned, little pieces of gossip, seemingly trivial at the time, could become useful in heading off future trouble and friction within the fief. It was part of being a Ranger. Information, no matter how unimportant it might seem at first glance, was a Ranger's lifeblood. Now, late in the afternoon, as he rode wearily up to the cabin set among the trees, he was surprised to see lights in the windows and the silhouette of someone sitting on the small verandah. Surprise turned to pleasure when he recognized Halt. These days Will's mentor was an infrequent visitor to the cabin, spending most of his time in the rooms provided for him and Lady Pauline in the castle. Will swung down from the saddle and stretched his tired muscles gratefully. "Hullo," he said. "What brings you here? I hope you've got the coffee on." "Coffee's ready," Halt replied. "Tend to your horse and then join me. I need to talk to you." His voice sounded strained. Curiosity piqued, Will led Tug to the stable behind the cabin, unharnessed him, rubbed him down and set out feed and fresh water. The little horse butted his shoulder gratefully. He patted Tug's neck, then headed back to the cabin. Halt was still on the verandah. He had set out two cups of hot coffee on a small side table and Will sat in one of the wood-andcanvas chairs and sipped gratefully at the refreshing brew. He felt the warmth of it flowing through his chilled, stiff muscles. Winter was coming on and the wind had been cold and cutting all day. He gazed at Halt. The gray-bearded Ranger seemed strangely ill at ease. And despite his claim that he needed to talk to Will, once the usual greetings were out of the way, he seemed almost reluctant to begin the conversation. "You had something to tell me?" Will prompted. Halt shifted uncomfortably in his seat. Then, with an obvious effort, he plunged in. "There's something you should know," he said. "Something I probably should have told you long ago. It's just . . . the time never seemed right." Will's curiosity grew. He had never seen Halt in such an uncertain mood. He waited, giving his mentor time to settle his thoughts. "Pauline thinks it's time I told you," Halt said. "So does Arald. They've both known about it for some time. So maybe I should just . . . get on with it." "Is it something bad?" Will asked, and Halt looked directly at him for the first time in several minutes. "I'm not sure," he said. "You might think so." For a moment, Will wondered if he wanted to hear it, whatever it might be. Then, seeing the discomfort on Halt's face, he realized that, good or bad, it was something that his teacher had to get off his chest. He gestured for Halt to continue. Halt paused for a few more seconds, then he began. "I suppose it starts after the final battle against Morgarath's forces, at Hackham Heath. They'd been retreating for several days. Then they stopped and made a stand. We'd broken their main attack and we were forcing them back. But they were rallying on the right, where they'd found a weak point in our line . . ." Excerpted from The Lost Stories by John Flanagan All rights reserved by the original copyright owners. Excerpts are provided for display purposes only and may not be reproduced, reprinted or distributed without the written permission of the publisher.</anon> </opt>

Novelist Select