Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Calling my name /

by Tamani, Liara [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]Edition: First edition.Description: 310 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062656865; 0062656864.Subject(s): Coming of age -- Fiction | Family life -- Texas -- Fiction | African Americans -- Fiction | Texas -- Fiction | Bildungsromans | Families -- Texas -- Juvenile fiction | African Americans -- Juvenile fiction | Texas -- Juvenile fiction | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American | Bildungsromans | Bildungsromans | Fiction | Juvenile worksSummary: "Taja Brown, growing up in a conservative and tightly knit African American family, battles family expectations to discover a sense of self and find her unique voice and purpose"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: #OwnVoices Awards: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC TAM Checked out 11/30/2019 39270003928912

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"Calling My Name is a treasure."--Nic Stone, New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin</p> <p>Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self--ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.</p> <p>This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.</p> <p>Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.</p>

"Taja Brown, growing up in a conservative and tightly knit African American family, battles family expectations to discover a sense of self and find her unique voice and purpose"-- Provided by publisher.

Novelist Select