Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Calling my name /

by Tamani, Liara [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2017]Edition: First edition.Description: 310 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062656865; 0062656864.Subject(s): Coming of age -- Fiction | Family life -- Texas -- Fiction | African Americans -- Fiction | Texas -- Fiction | Bildungsromans | Families -- Texas -- Juvenile fiction | African Americans -- Juvenile fiction | Texas -- Juvenile fiction | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Coming of Age | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Family | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / People & Places / United States / African American | Bildungsromans | Bildungsromans | Fiction | Juvenile worksSummary: "Taja Brown, growing up in a conservative and tightly knit African American family, battles family expectations to discover a sense of self and find her unique voice and purpose"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: #OwnVoices Awards: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC TAM (Browse shelf) Available 39270003928912

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"Calling My Name is a treasure."--Nic Stone, New York Times-bestselling author of Dear Martin</p> <p>Calling My Name is a striking, luminous, and literary exploration of family, spirituality, and self--ideal for readers of Jacqueline Woodson, Jandy Nelson, Naomi Shihab Nye, and Sandra Cisneros.</p> <p>This unforgettable novel tells a universal coming-of-age story about Taja Brown, a young African American girl growing up in Houston, Texas, and deftly and beautifully explores the universal struggles of growing up, battling family expectations, discovering a sense of self, and finding a unique voice and purpose.</p> <p>Told in fifty-three short, episodic, moving, and iridescent chapters, Calling My Name follows Taja on her journey from middle school to high school. Literary and noteworthy, this is a beauty of a novel that captures the multifaceted struggle of finding where you belong and why you matter.</p>

"Taja Brown, growing up in a conservative and tightly knit African American family, battles family expectations to discover a sense of self and find her unique voice and purpose"-- Provided by publisher.

Novelist Select