The everything box /

by Kadrey, Richard [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Harper Voyager, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2016]Edition: First edition.Description: 352 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780062389541; 0062389548.Subject(s): Angels -- Fiction | Thieves -- Fiction | End of the world -- Fiction | Survival -- Fiction | Lost and found possessions -- Fiction | Boxes -- Fiction | Magic -- Fiction | FICTION -- Fantasy -- General | Paranormal fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Paranormal fiction | Fantasy fiction | Paranormal fiction | Fantasy fictionSummary: "Reminiscent of the edgy, offbeat humor of Chris Moore and Matt Ruff, the first entry in a whimsical, fast-paced supernatural series from the New York Times bestselling author of the Sandman Slim novels--a dark and humorous story involving a doomsday gizmo, a horde of baddies determined to possess its power, and a clever thief who must steal it back. again and again. 2000 B.C.A beautiful, ambitious angel stands on a mountaintop, surveying the world and its little inhabitants below. He smiles because soon, the last of humanity who survived the great flood will meet its end, too. And he should know. He's going to play a big part in it. Our angel usually doesn't get to do field work, and if he does well, he's certain he'll get a big promotion. And now it's time. The angel reaches into his pocket for the instrument of humanity's doom. Must be in the other pocket. Then he frantically begins to pat himself down. Dejected, he realizes he has lost the object. Looking over the Earth at all that could have been, the majestic angel utters a single word."Crap." 2015. A thief named Coop--a specialist in purloining magic objects--steals and delivers a small box to the mysterious client who engaged his services. Coop doesn't know that his latest job could be the end of him--and the rest of the world. Suddenly he finds himself in the company of The Department of Peculiar Science, a fearsome enforcement agency that polices the odd and strange. The box isn't just a supernatural heirloom with quaint powers, they tell him. It's a doomsday device. They think. And suddenly, everyone is out to get it"-- Provided by publisher.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Science Fiction SF KAD Available 39270004580506

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Reminiscent of the edgy, offbeat humor of Chris Moore and Matt Ruff, the first entry in a whimsical, fast-paced supernatural series from the New York Times bestselling author of the Sandman Slim novels--a dark and humorous story involving a doomsday gizmo, a horde of baddies determined to possess its power, and a clever thief who must steal it back . . . again and again.</p> <p>22000 B.C. A beautiful, ambitious angel stands on a mountaintop, surveying the world and its little inhabitants below. He smiles because soon, the last of humanity who survived the great flood will meet its end, too. And he should know. He's going to play a big part in it. Our angel usually doesn't get to do field work, and if he does well, he's certain he'll get a big promotion.</p> <p>And now it's time . . . .</p> <p>The angel reaches into his pocket for the instrument of humanity's doom. Must be in the other pocket. Then he frantically begins to pat himself down. Dejected, he realizes he has lost the object. Looking over the Earth at all that could have been, the majestic angel utters a single word.</p> <p>"Crap."</p> <p>2015. A thief named Coop--a specialist in purloining magic objects--steals and delivers a small box to the mysterious client who engaged his services. Coop doesn't know that his latest job could be the end of him--and the rest of the world. Suddenly he finds himself in the company of The Department of Peculiar Science, a fearsome enforcement agency that polices the odd and strange. The box isn't just a supernatural heirloom with quaint powers, they tell him.</p> <p>It's a doomsday device. They think . . .</p> <p>And suddenly, everyone is out to get it.</p>

"Reminiscent of the edgy, offbeat humor of Chris Moore and Matt Ruff, the first entry in a whimsical, fast-paced supernatural series from the New York Times bestselling author of the Sandman Slim novels--a dark and humorous story involving a doomsday gizmo, a horde of baddies determined to possess its power, and a clever thief who must steal it back. again and again. 2000 B.C.A beautiful, ambitious angel stands on a mountaintop, surveying the world and its little inhabitants below. He smiles because soon, the last of humanity who survived the great flood will meet its end, too. And he should know. He's going to play a big part in it. Our angel usually doesn't get to do field work, and if he does well, he's certain he'll get a big promotion. And now it's time. The angel reaches into his pocket for the instrument of humanity's doom. Must be in the other pocket. Then he frantically begins to pat himself down. Dejected, he realizes he has lost the object. Looking over the Earth at all that could have been, the majestic angel utters a single word."Crap." 2015. A thief named Coop--a specialist in purloining magic objects--steals and delivers a small box to the mysterious client who engaged his services. Coop doesn't know that his latest job could be the end of him--and the rest of the world. Suddenly he finds himself in the company of The Department of Peculiar Science, a fearsome enforcement agency that polices the odd and strange. The box isn't just a supernatural heirloom with quaint powers, they tell him. It's a doomsday device. They think. And suddenly, everyone is out to get it"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

As a thief with a special immunity to magic, Coop is often hired for heists that involve the supernatural. After a job lands him in jail, an old friend offers to set Coop up with a new caper when he's released. It seems simple: steal a box, but don't open it. Unfortunately Coop isn't the only person after the box, with a bumbling doomsday cult, agents from a shadowy government agency, and the angel who lost the box but a few of the players on the board. The fate of the world might very well hang upon who controls the box. VERDICT Heaven and hell (not to mention the grimier corners of L.A.) are familiar territory for Kadrey as seen in his entertaining "Sandman Slim" series. Here the author takes a decidedly more lighthearted approach, creating a must-have for fans of Neil Gaiman and Terry Pratchett's comic novel, Good Omens, or those who enjoy the zany situations and amusement of Christopher Moore. [See Prepub Alert, 11/15/15.]-MM © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select