Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Eliza and Her Monsters /

by Zappia, Francesca [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Greenwillow Books, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2017]Edition: First edition.Description: iv, 385 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062290137; 0062290134.Other title: Eliza & Her Monsters.Subject(s): UQP young adult fiction | Depressions -- Juvenile fiction | Self-reliance -- Juvenile fiction | Webcomics -- Juvenile fiction | Schools -- Juvenile fiction | Anonymous persons -- Juvenile fiction | Dating (Social customs) -- Juvenile fiction | Depression, Mental -- Fiction | Self-reliance -- Fiction | Webcomics -- Fiction | Schools -- Fiction | Anonymous persons -- Fiction | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Depression | YOUNG ADULT FICTION / Social Themes / Self-Esteem & Self-Reliance | Anonymous persons | Depressions | Schools | Self-reliance | Webcomics | Fiction | Juvenile works | Young adult worksSummary: Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she's worked for begins to crumble.
List(s) this item appears in: YA Books about Mental Illness | #OwnVoices
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC ZAP (Browse shelf) Available 39270004578229

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she's worked for begins to crumble.

Scott Westerfeld's Afterworlds meets Nimona in this novel about art, fandom, and finding the courage to be yourself. Features illustrations by the author throughout. Perfect for readers of Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl, this is the second novel by the acclaimed author of Made You Up.

In the real world, Eliza Mirk is shy, weird, smart, and friendless. Online, Eliza is LadyConstellation, the anonymous creator of a popular webcomic called Monstrous Sea. With millions of followers and fans throughout the world, Eliza's persona is popular. Eliza can't imagine enjoying the real world as much as she loves her digital community. Then Wallace Warland transfers to her school, and Eliza begins to wonder if a life offline might be worthwhile. But when Eliza's secret is accidentally shared with the world, everything she's built--her story, her relationship with Wallace, and even her sanity--begins to fall apart.

With pages from Eliza's webcomic, as well as screenshots from Eliza's online forums, this uniquely formatted book will appeal to fans of Noelle Stevenson's Nimona and Rainbow Rowell's Fangirl.

"Her story is a phenomenon, her life is a disaster"--cover.

Eighteen-year-old Eliza Mirk is the anonymous creator of Monstrous Sea, a wildly popular webcomic, but when a new boy at school tempts her to live a life offline, everything she's worked for begins to crumble.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Socially inept high-school senior Eliza Mirk is a nobody at school. But online she is LadyConstellation, anonymous creator of the super-popular fantasy webcomic Monstrous Sea. Adorable, even-more-awkward new kid Wallace turns out to be a fan--and a well-known fan-forum moderator and fanfiction writer at that. The two begin a tentative friendship through handwritten notes at school and chats and text messages at home (Wallace doesnt talk much), and soon theyre more than friends. Eliza agonizes over how to confess that shes not just a fellow Monstrous Sea fan but the comics creator; this secret and a few of Wallaces own threaten their sweet and hard-won romance. Everything comes to a head just before graduation, when LadyConstellations true identity is leaked. To what extent has Eliza been complicit in her own isolation, and how can she reconcile her now very public persona with her introverts need for privacy? Interspersed with Elizas relatable and often funny first-person narrative are chat logs, text messages, Elizas lovely art, and snippets of Wallaces prose, reflecting the teens multi-platform means of communication. Like Rainbow Rowells Fangirl (rev. 11/13), this is a love letter to online fandom and to the profound sense of belonging found in others who share your particular passion, whether as creators or fans, in person or on the web. katie bircher (c) Copyright 2017. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select