Normal view MARC view ISBD view

That thing we call a heart /

by Karim, Sheba [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2017.Edition: First Edition.Description: 275 pages : 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062445704; 0062445707.Subject(s): Identity (Philosophical concept) -- Fiction | Muslims -- Fiction | Families -- Fiction | Best friends -- Fiction | Interpersonal relations -- Young adult fiction | Pakistani Americans -- Young adult fiction | Love -- Young adult fiction | Best friends -- Young adult fiction | Muslims -- Young adult fiction | Dating (Social customs) -- Young adult fiction | New Jersey -- Young adult fiction | Young adult fiction | Romance fiction | BildungsromansSummary: "High school has ended, and Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom. She's felt alienated from her gutsy best friend, Farah, ever since Farah started wearing the Muslim head scarf--without even bothering to discuss it with Shabnam first. But no one else comes close to understanding her, especially not her parents. All Shabnam wants to do is get through the summer. Get to Penn. Begin anew. Not look back. That is, until she meets Jamie...In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place--her family." provided by publisher
List(s) this item appears in: #OwnVoices
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC KAR (Browse shelf) Available 39270004569095

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>This young adult novel by Sheba Karim, author of Skunk Girl, is a funny and affecting coming-of-age story for fans of Jenny Han, Megan McCafferty, and Sara Farizan. A Kirkus Best Book of 2017!</p> <p>Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom until she meets Jamie, who scores her a job at his aunt's pie shack. Shabnam quickly finds herself in love, while her former best friend, Farah, who Shabnam has begun to reconnect with, finds Jamie worrying.</p> <p>In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place--her family, and her father's beloved Urdu poetry.</p> <p>That Thing We Call a Heart is a funny and fresh story about the importance of love--in all its forms.</p>

"High school has ended, and Shabnam Qureshi is facing a summer of loneliness and boredom. She's felt alienated from her gutsy best friend, Farah, ever since Farah started wearing the Muslim head scarf--without even bothering to discuss it with Shabnam first. But no one else comes close to understanding her, especially not her parents. All Shabnam wants to do is get through the summer. Get to Penn. Begin anew. Not look back. That is, until she meets Jamie...In her quest to figure out who she really is and what she really wants, Shabnam looks for help in an unexpected place--her family." provided by publisher

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Shabnam, a secularized Pakistani American girl ready to go off to college, lost her friendship with Farah when Farah started wearing the hijab. The two reconnect over the summer, but Shabnam's romance with white boy Jamie concerns Farah. Shabnam's father's love for Urdu poetry and Sufism adds further interest to this affecting coming-of-age story that realistically portrays the diversity of the U.S. Muslim community. (c) Copyright 2018. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select