Lost and found cat : the true story of Kunkush's incredible journey /

by Kuntz, Doug [author.]; Shrodes, Amy [author.]; Cornelison, Sue [illustrator.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Crown Books for Young Readers, [2017]Description: 1 volume (unpaged) : color illustrations ; 26 cm.ISBN: 9781524715472 (hc); 1524715476 (hc); 9781524715489 (glb); 1524715484 (glb).Subject(s): Cats -- Iraq -- Juvenile literature | Cats -- Greece -- Juvenile literature | Pet loss -- Greece -- Juvenile literature | Refugees -- Iraq -- Juvenile literature | Iraq -- Emigration and immigration -- Juvenile literature | Greece | Iraq | Cats -- Iraq | Cats -- Greece | Pet loss -- Greece | Refugees -- Iraq | Iraq -- Emigration and immigration | Iraq -- Emigration and immigration -- Juvenile literature | Picture books | Illustrated works | Juvenile works | Picture books for children | Illustrated worksSummary: When an Iraqi family is forced to flee their home, they can't bear to leave their beloved cat, Kunkush, behind. So they carry him with them from Iraq to Greece, keeping their secret passenger hidden away. But during the crowded boat crossing to Greece, his carrier breaks and the frightened cat runs from the chaos. In one moment, he is gone. After an unsuccessful search, his family has to continue their journey, leaving brokenhearted. A few days later, aid workers in Greece find the lost cat. Knowing how much his family has sacrificed already, they are desperate to reunite them with the cat they love so much. A worldwide community comes together to spread the word on the Internet and in the news media, and after several months the impossible happens Kunkush s family is found, and they finally get their happy ending in their new home.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's NonFiction j 636.8 KUN Available 39270004561464

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Celebrate books, friendship, and chocolate milk shakes with Duncan the Dragon in this sweet, funny story perfect for fans of Dog Loves Books and Dragons Love Tacos. <br> <br> Duncan the Dragon loves to read. When he reads a story, his imagination catches fire! Unfortunately . . . so does his book. Fire breath is great for roasting marshmallows, but it's not so great for reading. Duncan just wants to get to those two wonderful words, like the last sip of a chocolate milk shake- The End. Will he ever find out how the story ends? This bright, warm tale champions determination, friendship, and a love for books. And milk shakes!<br> <br> An Indie Next selection<br> <br> Winner of the Colorado Libraries for Early Literacy Bell Picture Book Award<br> <br> "Though there are lots of unusual friendship stories in picture books, the vivid colors, expressive faces, and comic details make this one likely to be a storytime hit. Like the last sip of a chocolate milk shake, it's very satisfying." - Kirkus Reviews

When an Iraqi family is forced to flee their home, they can't bear to leave their beloved cat, Kunkush, behind. So they carry him with them from Iraq to Greece, keeping their secret passenger hidden away. But during the crowded boat crossing to Greece, his carrier breaks and the frightened cat runs from the chaos. In one moment, he is gone. After an unsuccessful search, his family has to continue their journey, leaving brokenhearted. A few days later, aid workers in Greece find the lost cat. Knowing how much his family has sacrificed already, they are desperate to reunite them with the cat they love so much. A worldwide community comes together to spread the word on the Internet and in the news media, and after several months the impossible happens Kunkush s family is found, and they finally get their happy ending in their new home.

Novelist Select