WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

Due to the unhealthy air quality caused by smoke and ash from the Bobcat Fire, curbside services at both libraries have been suspended for the week of September 14 through 19. Phone reference at (626) 798-0833 and live chat at www.altadenalibrary.org are still available. Thank you for your understanding!

The motion of puppets /

by Donohue, Keith [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Picador, 2016.Edition: First edition.Description: 260 pages ; 25 cm.ISBN: 9781250057181; 1250057183.Subject(s): Acrobats -- Fiction | Puppets -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Quebec (Quebec) -- Fiction | Paranormal fiction | Fantasy fiction | Horror fiction | Occult fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Horror fictionSummary: "In the Old City of Quebec, Kay Harper falls in love with a puppet in the window of the Quatre Mains, a toy shop that is never open. She is spending her summer working as an acrobat with the cirque while her husband, Theo, is translating a biography of the pioneering photographer Eadweard Muybridge. Late one night, Kay fears someone is following her home. Surprised to see that the lights of the toy shop are on and the door is open, she takes shelter inside. The next morning Theo wakes up to discover his wife is missing. Under police suspicion and frantic at her disappearance, he obsessively searches the streets of the Old City. Meanwhile, Kay has been transformed into a puppet, and is now a prisoner of the back room of the Quatre Mains, trapped with an odd assemblage of puppets from all over the world who can only come alive between the hours of midnight and dawn. The only way she can return to the human world is if Theo can find her and recognize her in her new form. So begins a dual odyssey: of a husband determined to find his wife, and of a woman trapped in a magical world where her life is not her own"--Provided by publisher.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
No physical items for this record

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

In the Old City of Québec, Kay Harper falls in love with a puppet in the window of the Quatre Mains, a toy shop that is never open. She is spending her summer working as an acrobat with the cirque while her husband, Theo, is translating a biography of the pioneering photographer Eadweard Muybridge. Late one night, Kay fears someone is following her home. Surprised to see that the lights of the toy shop are on and the door is open, she takes shelter inside.The next morning Theo wakes up to discover his wife is missing. Under police suspicion and frantic at her disappearance, he obsessively searches the streets of the Old City. Meanwhile, Kay has been transformed into a puppet, and is now a prisoner of the back room of the Quatre Mains, trapped with an odd assemblage of puppets from all over the world who can only come alive between the hours of midnight and dawn. The only way she can return to the human world is if Theo can find her and recognize her in her new form. So begins a dual odyssey: of a husband determined to findhis wife, and of a woman trapped in a magical world where her life is not her own.* For readers of Joe Hill and Neil Gaiman* The Boy Who Drew Monsters has been optioned by New Line Cinema and director James Wan

"A novel" -- book cover.

"In the Old City of Quebec, Kay Harper falls in love with a puppet in the window of the Quatre Mains, a toy shop that is never open. She is spending her summer working as an acrobat with the cirque while her husband, Theo, is translating a biography of the pioneering photographer Eadweard Muybridge. Late one night, Kay fears someone is following her home. Surprised to see that the lights of the toy shop are on and the door is open, she takes shelter inside. The next morning Theo wakes up to discover his wife is missing. Under police suspicion and frantic at her disappearance, he obsessively searches the streets of the Old City. Meanwhile, Kay has been transformed into a puppet, and is now a prisoner of the back room of the Quatre Mains, trapped with an odd assemblage of puppets from all over the world who can only come alive between the hours of midnight and dawn. The only way she can return to the human world is if Theo can find her and recognize her in her new form. So begins a dual odyssey: of a husband determined to find his wife, and of a woman trapped in a magical world where her life is not her own"--Provided by publisher.

Novelist Select