Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The stranger game /

by Busby, Cylin [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2016]Edition: First edition.Description: 281 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062354600; 0062354604.Subject(s): Missing children -- Juvenile fiction | Sisters -- Juvenile fiction | Amnesia -- Juvenile fiction | Psychic trauma -- Juvenile fiction | Sibling abuse -- Juvenile fiction | Sisters -- Fiction | Missing persons -- Fiction | Amnesia -- Fiction | Mystery and detective stories | Impersonation | Missing children | Sisters | Young adult fiction | Thrillers (Fiction) | Detective and mystery fiction | Mystery fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Suspense fictionSummary: When Nico Morris's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah's daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She's thin and drawn, when Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah's retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical -- where she's been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah.
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA M BUS Available 39270004540443

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>The Stranger Game is a dark, suspenseful, and twisty novel that is Gone Girl for teens. Perfect for fans of Lauren Oliver and E. Lockhart.</p> <p>When Nico Morris's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah's daily cruelties.</p> <p>Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found.</p> <p>But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She's thin and drawn, when Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah's retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical--where she's been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah. . . .</p>

When Nico Morris's older sister mysteriously disappears, her parents, family, and friends are devastated. But Nico can never admit what she herself feels: relief at finally being free of Sarah's daily cruelties. Then the best and worst thing happens: four years later, after dozens of false leads, Sarah is found. But this girl is much changed from the one Nico knew. She's thin and drawn, when Sarah had been golden and athletic; timid and unsure, instead of brash and competitive; and strangest of all, sweet and kind, when she had once been mean and abusive. Sarah's retrograde amnesia has caused her to forget almost everything about her life, from small things like the plots of her favorite books and her tennis game to the more critical -- where she's been the last four years and what happened at the park on the fateful day she vanished. Despite the happy ending, the dark details of that day continue to haunt Nico, and it becomes clear that more than one person knows the true story of what happened to Sarah.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Nico's (mean and abusive) older sister Sarah disappeared four years ago. The family has had its hopes dashed countless times by false leads, so when Sarah's finally found, it feels surreal. Sarah, who has amnesia, is much nicer to Nico now, and that's not the only cause for suspicion. Nico's narrative alternates with Sarah's in this fast-paced mystery filled with satisfying twists. (c) Copyright 2017. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select