Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The curious charms of Arthur Pepper /

by Patrick, Phaedra [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Thorndike Press Large Print Basic.Publisher: Waterville, Maine : Thorndike Press, a part of Gale, Cengage Learning, 2016.Edition: Large Print edition.Description: 447 pages (large print) : illustrations ; 23 cm.ISBN: 9781410490254; 1410490254.Subject(s): Widowers -- England -- Fiction | England -- Fiction | Large type books | England | Large type books | FictionSummary: Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater-vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden. But on the one-year anniversary of Miriam's death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam's possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he's never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife's secret life before they met -- a journey that leads him to find hope, healing, and self-discovery in the most unexpected places.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult Large Print Fiction L.T. FIC PAT Available 39270004524215

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

On the one-year anniversary of his wife's death, 69-year-old Arthur Pepper discovers a mysterious charm bracelet in his late wife's wardrobe -- and sets off on a surprising and unforgettable odyssey to discover, charm by charm, her secret life before they met.

"A novel"--Cover.

Sixty-nine-year-old Arthur Pepper lives a simple life. He gets out of bed at precisely 7:30 a.m., just as he did when his wife, Miriam, was alive. He dresses in the same gray slacks and mustard sweater-vest, waters his fern, Frederica, and heads out to his garden. But on the one-year anniversary of Miriam's death, something changes. Sorting through Miriam's possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he's never seen before. What follows is a surprising and unforgettable odyssey that takes Arthur from London to Paris and as far as India in an epic quest to find out the truth about his wife's secret life before they met -- a journey that leads him to find hope, healing, and self-discovery in the most unexpected places.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

Arthur Pepper lives a simple life, eventless since his beloved wife, Miriam, died: same food, same clothes, same daily routine. On the one-year anniversary of her death, something changes. While painfully sorting through her possessions, Arthur finds an exquisite gold charm bracelet he never saw her wear. On the chain are an elephant, a tiger, a book, a heart, a palette, and other charms. Curious, Arthur begins a search for the origin of these trinkets that takes him from New York to London, Paris, and India. Not only is Arthur's life amazingly altered, but he learns much more about Miriam and the choice she made when she married him. VERDICT Tender, insightful, and surprising, this wonderful debut novel is a stunning addition to the popular genre of transformative stories of otherwise uneventful lives. It will instantly capture the hearts of readers who loved Rachel Joyce's The Unlikely Pilgrimage of Harold Fry, Nina George's The Little Paris Bookshop, and Antoine Laurain's The Red Notebook.--Susan Clifford Braun, Bainbridge Island, WA © Copyright 2016. Library Journals LLC, a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select