The crown's game /

by Skye, Evelyn [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, 2016.Description: 399 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 0062422588; 9780062422583.Subject(s): Magicians -- Fiction | Dueling -- Fiction | Triangles (Interpersonal relations) -- Fiction | Kings and rulers -- Fiction | Princes -- Fiction | Russia -- Politics and government -- Fiction | Russia | Young adult fiction | Alternative histories (Fiction) | Fantasy fiction | Romance fictionSummary: Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are the only enchanters in Russia, and when the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threaten to attack, the tsar wants a powerful enchanter by his side, and as an advisor for the prince, Pasha. He initiates the Crown's Game, a duel of magical skill, and the winner will become his Imperial Enchanter; the loser will die. For Vika and Nikolai, the game is a chance of a lifetime, but they come to realize that their growing regard for each other makes the game impossible to win. And as long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes increasingly clear to them that the Crown's Game is not one to lose.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC SKY Available 39270004509117

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"Gorgeous and richly imagined."--Sara Raasch, New York Times bestselling author of the Snow Like Ashes series</p> <p>"Teeming with hidden magic and fiery romance."--Sabaa Tahir, #1 New York Times bestselling author of An Ember in the Ashes</p> <p>Perfect for fans of Shadow and Bone and Red Queen, The Crown's Game is a thrilling and atmospheric historical fantasy set in Imperial Russia about two teenagers who must compete for the right to become the Imperial Enchanter--or die in the process--from debut author Evelyn Skye.</p> <p>Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are enchanters--the only two in Russia--and with the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threatening, the tsar needs a powerful enchanter by his side.</p> <p>And so he initiates the Crown's Game, an ancient duel of magical skill--the greatest test an enchanter will ever know. The victor becomes the Imperial Enchanter and the tsar's most respected adviser. The defeated is sentenced to death.</p> <p>Raised on tiny Ovchinin Island her whole life, Vika is eager for the chance to show off her talent in the grand capital of Saint Petersburg. But can she kill another enchanter--even when his magic calls to her like nothing else ever has?</p> <p>For Nikolai, an orphan, the Crown's Game is the chance of a lifetime. But his deadly opponent is a force to be reckoned with--beautiful, whip smart, imaginative--and he can't stop thinking about her.</p> <p>And when Pasha, Nikolai's best friend and heir to the throne, also starts to fall for the mysterious enchantress, Nikolai must defeat the girl they both love . . . or be killed himself.</p> <p>As long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes dangerously clear . . . the Crown's Game is not one to lose.</p>

Vika Andreyeva can summon the snow and turn ash into gold. Nikolai Karimov can see through walls and conjure bridges out of thin air. They are the only enchanters in Russia, and when the Ottoman Empire and the Kazakhs threaten to attack, the tsar wants a powerful enchanter by his side, and as an advisor for the prince, Pasha. He initiates the Crown's Game, a duel of magical skill, and the winner will become his Imperial Enchanter; the loser will die. For Vika and Nikolai, the game is a chance of a lifetime, but they come to realize that their growing regard for each other makes the game impossible to win. And as long-buried secrets emerge, threatening the future of the empire, it becomes increasingly clear to them that the Crown's Game is not one to lose.

Novelist Select