Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The Fog diver /

by Ross, Joel N [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2015]Edition: First edition.Description: 328 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062352934; 0062352938.Subject(s): Street children -- Juvenile fiction | Survival -- Juvenile fiction | Salvage (Waste, etc.) -- Juvenile fiction | Environmental degradation -- Juvenile fiction | Secrecy -- Juvenile fiction | Orphans -- Juvenile fiction | Adventure and adventurers -- Fiction | Survival -- Fiction | Recycling (Waste) -- Fiction | Environmental degradation -- Fiction | Orphans -- Fiction | Science fiction | Action and adventure fiction | Dystopian fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Science fiction | Action and adventure fiction | Science fiction | Dystopian fictionSummary: "In this futuristic high-stakes adventure, humanity clings to cities on the highest mountain peaks above the deadly Fog, and airships transport the pirates of the skies. Daring 13-year-old tetherboy Chess and his salvage crew must face the dark plans of Lord Kodoc and work to save their beloved Mrs. E"-- Provided by publisher.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J ROS Available 39270004501684

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Joel Ross debuts a thrilling adventure series in which living in the sky is the new reality and a few determined slum kids just might become heroes. This Texas Bluebonnet selection--a fantasy filled with daring and hope and a wonderfully imaginative world--is perfect for fans of Rick Riordan and Brandon Mull.</p> <p>Once the Fog started rising, the earth was covered with a deadly white mist until nothing remained but the mountaintops. Now humanity clings to its highest peaks, called the Rooftop, where the wealthy Five Families rule over the lower slopes and floating junkyards.</p> <p>Thirteen-year-old Chess and his friends Hazel, Bea, and Swedish sail their rickety air raft over the deadly Fog, scavenging the ruins for anything they can sell to survive. But now survival isn't enough. They must risk everything to get to the miraculous city of Port Oro, the only place where their beloved Mrs. E can be cured of fogsickness. Yet the ruthless Lord Kodoc is hot on their trail, for Chess has a precious secret, one that Kodoc is desperate to use against him. Now Chess will face any danger to protect his friends, even if it means confronting what he fears the most.</p>

Middle School.

Accelerated Reader 4.6.

Ages 8-12.

"In this futuristic high-stakes adventure, humanity clings to cities on the highest mountain peaks above the deadly Fog, and airships transport the pirates of the skies. Daring 13-year-old tetherboy Chess and his salvage crew must face the dark plans of Lord Kodoc and work to save their beloved Mrs. E"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Lethal fog covers the earth, forcing humans to live in the skies. Among them are four young scavengers on an airship desperate to save their guardian from a deadly illness but without money to do it--until they find a diamond. Despite its neat futuristic setting, the plot feels charmingly nostalgic (think The Goonies). The crew's banter is amusing if sometimes hokey. (c) Copyright 2015. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select