Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The remarkable journey of Charlie Price /

by Maschari, Jennifer.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2016]Edition: First edition.Description: 290 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062380104 (hardback); 0062380109 (hardback).Subject(s): Grief -- Fiction | Brothers and sisters -- Fiction | Future life -- Fiction | Grief -- Juvenile fiction | Brothers and sisters -- Juvenile fiction | Future life -- Juvenile fiction | Paranormal fictionSummary: "A boy must rescue his sister after she finds - and wants to stay - in an almost-world beneath her bed, where their mother is still alive"-- Provided by publisher.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J MAS Available 39270004494377

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>A heartfelt, beautifully written novel of love, loss, and math--perfect for fans of Rebecca Stead and Sharon M. Draper.</p> <p>This "tangible allegory of grief through the eyes of a struggling 12-year-old boy" has been cited by Brightly.com as a book about sadness and grief that will help support kids and foster conversation.</p> <p>Ever since twelve-year-old Charlie Price's mom died, he feels like his world has been split into two parts. Before included stargazing and Mathletes and Saturday scavenger hunts with his family. After means a dad who's completely checked out, comically bad dinners, and grief group that's anything but helpful. It seems like losing Mom meant losing everything else he loved, too.</p> <p>Just when Charlie thinks things can't get any worse, his sister, Imogen, starts acting erratically--missing school and making up lies about their mother. But everything changes when one day he follows her down a secret passageway in the middle of her bedroom and sees for himself.</p> <p>Imogen has found a parallel world where Mom is alive!</p> <p>There's hot cocoa and Scrabble and scavenger hunts again and everything is perfect . . . at first. But something doesn't feel right. Whenever Charlie returns to the real world, things are different, and not in a good way. And Imogen wants to spend more and more time on the other side. It's almost as if she wants to leave the real world for good. If Charlie doesn't uncover the truth, he could lose himself, the true memory of their mother, and Imogen . . . forever.</p>

"A boy must rescue his sister after she finds - and wants to stay - in an almost-world beneath her bed, where their mother is still alive"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

After their mother's death, Charlie and Imogen find a hatch leading to a place where they can--apparently--spend time with her, an arrangement that sounds appealing but holds dangers related to a grieving friend's recent disappearance. This adventure is part grief allegory, part less-creepy Coraline. (c) Copyright 2016. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select