Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A curious tale of the in-between /

by DeStefano, Lauren [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Bloomsbury, 2015.Description: 228 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9781619636002; 161963600X.Subject(s): Loss (Psychology) -- Juvenile fiction | Psychic ability -- Juvenile fiction | Friendship -- Juvenile fiction | Orphans -- Juvenile fiction | Aunts -- Juvenile fiction | Loss (Psychology) -- Fiction | Psychic ability -- Fiction | Friendship -- Fiction | Ghosts -- Fiction | Orphans -- Fiction | Aunts -- Fiction | Ghost stories | Fiction | Ghost stories | Juvenile worksSummary: Bright, imaginative, eleven-year-old Pram lives with two aunts who run a retirement home, hiding the fact that she can talk with ghosts--but not the spirit of her mother--and after befriending Clarence, who also lost his mother, she decides to find her father in hopes he can answer her questions.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J DES Available 39270004479907

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p> From New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano comes a delightful tale of a girl who can talk to ghosts that's perfect for fans of Neil Gaiman and Holly Black. </p> <p>Pram Bellamy is special--she can talk to ghosts. She doesn't have too many friends amongst the living, but that's all right. She has her books, she has her aunts, and she has her best friend, the ghostly Felix.</p> <p>Then Pram meets Clarence, a boy from school who has also lost a parent and is looking for answers. Together they arrive at the door of the mysterious Lady Savant, who promises to help. But this spiritualist knows the true nature of Pram's power, and what she has planned is more terrifying than any ghost.</p> <p> New York Times bestselling author Lauren DeStefano is beloved by critics and readers alike, and her middle grade debut is lyrical, evocative and not to be missed.</p>

Bright, imaginative, eleven-year-old Pram lives with two aunts who run a retirement home, hiding the fact that she can talk with ghosts--but not the spirit of her mother--and after befriending Clarence, who also lost his mother, she decides to find her father in hopes he can answer her questions.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Pram died just before she was born: her pregnant mother committed suicide, but the doctors managed to pull the right strings at the right time and resuscitate the baby. Eleven years later, intelligent and eccentric Pram has no living friends besides her aunts and the residents of the old-age home they run. She can, however, talk to the dead, and her best friend is ghostly Felix, whose jealousy is aroused when Pram finally befriends living classmate Clarence. Grieving for his own dead mother, Clarence persuades Pram to try to communicate with her through spiritualist Lady Savant, who turns out to have an unsavory interest in Prams powers. Urged by Lady Savant to enter the memories of the dead, Pram learns more about her own past, and Felixs, than she bargained for. The voice of this dark but often funny novel is as pragmatic as Pram, matter-of-factly acknowledging truths its characters need to know, even when those truths are unpleasant (and in fact discovering that her mother committed suicide, rather than dying in childbirth as she had been told, helps to ease Prams guilt). Fans of Holly Blacks Doll Bones (rev. 7/13) may well enjoy this creepy, character-based tale. shoshana flax (c) Copyright 2015. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select