Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Fans of the impossible life /

by Scelsa, Kate [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2015]Edition: First edition.Description: 360 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062331755; 0062331752.Subject(s): Best friends -- Fiction | Friendship -- Fiction | Gays -- Fiction | Bullying -- Fiction | Mental illness -- Fiction | Foster home care -- Fiction | Family problems -- Fiction | Best friends -- Fiction | Friendship -- Fiction | Gays -- Fiction | Bullying -- Fiction | Mental illness -- Fiction | Foster home care -- Fiction | Family crises -- Fiction | Best friends | Bullying | Family crises | Foster home care | Friendship | Gays | Mental illness | Fiction | Lesbian fiction | LGBTQ YAOnline resources: Cover image Summary: At Saint Francis Prep school in Mountain View, New Jersey, Mira, Jeremy, and Sebby come together as they struggle with romance, bullying, foster home and family problems, and mental health issues.
List(s) this item appears in: YA GLBTQ+ | YA Books about Mental Illness | YA Books about Bullying
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA FIC SCE (Browse shelf) Checked out 12/25/2018 39270004478313

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

A captivating and profound debut novel about complicated love and the friendships that have the power to transform you forever, perfect for fans of Nina LaCour and of The Perks of Being a Wallflower.

Mira is starting over at Saint Francis Prep. She promised her parents she would at least try to pretend that she could act like a functioning human this time, not a girl who can't get out of bed for days on end, who only feels awake when she's with Sebby.

Jeremy is the painfully shy art nerd at Saint Francis who's been in self-imposed isolation after an incident that ruined his last year of school. When he sees Sebby for the first time across the school lawn it's as if he's been expecting this blond, lanky boy with a mischief glinting in his eye.

Sebby, Mira's gay best friend, is a boy who seems to carry sunlight around with him . Even as life in his foster home starts to take its toll, Sebby and Mira together craft a world of magic rituals and impromptu road trips, designed to fix the broken parts of their lives.

As Jeremy finds himself drawn into Sebby and Mira's world, he begins to understand the secrets that they hide in order to protect themselves, to keep each other safe from those who don't understand their quest to live for the impossible.

At Saint Francis Prep school in Mountain View, New Jersey, Mira, Jeremy, and Sebby come together as they struggle with romance, bullying, foster home and family problems, and mental health issues.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

In passages alternating first-, second-, and third-person narration, three teens try to get over their pasts and navigate complicated relationships (platonic, romantic, and, often, sexual) in the present. There are a lot of elements to keep straight, but they form a nuanced story of how a variety of influences from one's home, one's peers, and one's memories can lead to poor choices. (c) Copyright 2016. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select