Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Asylum /

by Roux, Madeleine.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Harper, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, 2013Edition: First edition.Description: 313 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062220967 (hardback) :; 0062220969 (hardback).Title notes: $17.99 (YA) 10-2013 (db)Subject(s): Supernatural -- Fiction | Universities and colleges -- Fiction | Mental illness -- Fiction | Haunted places -- Fiction | Psychiatric hospitals -- Fiction | Ability -- Fiction | Mystery and detective stories | Horror stories | Paranormal fiction | College stories | Mental illness -- Fiction | Haunted places -- Fiction | Psychiatric hospitals -- Fiction | Ability -- Fiction | Mystery and detective stories | Ghost stories | Paranormal fiction | Mystery fiction | College stories | Young adult fictionSummary: "Three teens at a summer program for gifted students uncover shocking secrets in the sanatorium-turned-dorm where they're staying--secrets that link them all to the asylum's dark past"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: YA Books about Mental Illness Series information: Click to open in new window
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA M ROU (Browse shelf) Checked out 12/27/2018 39270003770215

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Madeleine Roux's New York Times bestselling Asylum is a thrilling and creepy photo-illustrated novel that Publishers Weekly called "a strong YA debut that reveals the enduring impact of buried trauma on a place." Featuring found photographs from real asylums and filled with chilling mystery and page-turning suspense, Asylum is a horror story that treads the line between genius and insanity, perfect for fans of Miss Peregrine's Home for Peculiar Children.

For sixteen-year-old Dan Crawford, the New Hampshire College Prep program is the chance of a lifetime. Except that when Dan arrives, he finds that the usual summer housing has been closed, forcing students to stay in the crumbling Brookline Dorm--formerly a psychiatric hospital. As Dan and his new friends Abby and Jordan start exploring Brookline's twisty halls and hidden basement, they uncover disturbing secrets about what really went on here . . . secrets that link Dan and his friends to the asylum's dark past. Because Brookline was no ordinary mental hospital, and there are some secrets that refuse to stay buried.

$17.99 (YA) 10-2013 (db)

"Three teens at a summer program for gifted students uncover shocking secrets in the sanatorium-turned-dorm where they're staying--secrets that link them all to the asylum's dark past"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Dan and the other students in his summer college prep program are being housed in a former insane asylum. Ghostly clues lead Dan to suspect that the spirit of a long-ago serial-killer patient is murdering again. Some plot twists strain belief, but brief chapters with plenty of cliffhangers keep pages turning. Appropriately unsettling stock photographs are integrated into the narrative. (c) Copyright 2014. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select