The familiars /

by Epstein, Adam Jay; Jacobson, Andrew; Chan, Peter [ill.]; Acedera, Kei [ill.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Harper, c2010Edition: 1st ed.Description: 360 p. : ill., map ; 21 cm.ISBN: 9780061961083; 0061961086.Subject(s): Cats -- Juvenile fiction | Magic -- Juvenile fiction | Wizards -- Juvenile fiction | Adventure and adventurers -- Fiction | Chapter books | Adventure fictionSummary: Three young wizards-in-training are kidnapped by an evil queen and their familiars--Aldwyn the alley cat, Skylar, a know-it-all blue jay, and Gilbert a tree frog who can see the future--set out on a dangerous journey to rescue the boys.
Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J EPS Damaged 39270003580333

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>For fans of Warriors and The Magic Thief comes a magical adventure story about a street cat who's mistaken for a wizard's familiar.</p> <p>When Aldwyn, a young alley cat on the run, ducks into a mysterious pet shop, he doesn't expect his life to change. But that's exactly what happens when Jack, a young wizard in training, picks Aldwyn to be his magical familiar.</p> <p>Finally off the tough streets, Aldwyn thinks he's got it made. He just has to convince the other familiars--the know-it-all blue jay Skylar and the friendly tree frog Gilbert--that he's the telekinetic cat he claims to be. But when Jack and two other wizards in training are captured by the evil queen, Aldwyn will have to use all of his street smarts, a few good friends, and a nose for adventure to save the day!</p> <p>And don't miss the exciting sequel to this Indie Next List pick, The Familiars: Secrets of the Crown.</p>

School Library Journal starred, August 2010

Publisher's Weekly, August 2010

Booklist, June 2010

Three young wizards-in-training are kidnapped by an evil queen and their familiars--Aldwyn the alley cat, Skylar, a know-it-all blue jay, and Gilbert a tree frog who can see the future--set out on a dangerous journey to rescue the boys.

5.0.

3-6 Follett Library Resources.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Young wizard Jack chooses Aldwyn the alley cat to be his familiar (animal magic assistant). Aldwyn begins his new life--and adventures--with Skylar, a bird, and Gilbert, a tree frog. Wry humor and energetic writing power the animals' efforts to save the lives of their human "loyals" from an evil witch. (c) Copyright 2011. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select