The Selection /

by Cass, Kiera.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: Selection ; #1.Publisher: New York : HarperTeen, [2012]Edition: 1st ed.Description: 327 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062059932; 0062059939.Other title: Selection (Selection #one).Subject(s): Contests -- Juvenile fiction | Social classes -- Juvenile fiction | Princes -- Juvenile fiction | Marriage -- Juvenile fiction | Revolutionaries -- Juvenile fiction | Dystopias -- Juvenile fiction | Marriage -- Fiction | Contests -- Fiction | Social classes -- Fiction | Princes -- Fiction | Love -- Fiction | Revolutionaries -- Fiction | JUVENILE FICTION -- Love & Romance | JUVENILE FICTION -- Girls & Women | JUVENILE FICTION -- General | Young adult fiction | Fiction | Juvenile works | Romance fiction | Young adult works | Love stories | Romance fictionSummary: "Sixteen-year-old America Singer is living in the caste-divided nation of Ill©♭a, which formed after the war that destroyed the United States. America is chosen to compete in the Selection--a contest to see which girl can win the heart of Ill©♭a's prince--but all she really wants is a chance for a future with her secret love, Aspen, who is a caste below her"-- Provided by publisher.
Series information: Click to open in new window Awards: Click to open in new window
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction YA CAS FIC Checked out 09/14/2020 39270004895342

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Fall in love--from the very beginning. Discover the first book in the captivating, #1 New York Times bestselling Selection series.</p> <p>Prepare to be swept into a world of breathless fairy-tale romance, swoonworthy characters, glittering gowns, and fierce intrigue perfect for readers who loved Divergent, Delirium, or The Wrath & the Dawn.</p> <p>For thirty-five girls, the Selection is the chance of a lifetime. The opportunity to escape a rigid caste system, live in a palace, and compete for the heart of gorgeous Prince Maxon. But for America Singer, being Selected is a nightmare. It means turning her back on her secret love with Aspen, who is a caste below her, and competing for a crown she doesn't want.</p> <p>Then America meets Prince Maxon--and realizes that the life she's always dreamed of may not compare to a future she never imagined.</p> <p>Don't miss The Betrothed, a glittering royal romance sure to captivate Kiera Cass's legion of loyal readers and lovers of courtly intrigue alike!</p>

"Sixteen-year-old America Singer is living in the caste-divided nation of Ill©♭a, which formed after the war that destroyed the United States. America is chosen to compete in the Selection--a contest to see which girl can win the heart of Ill©♭a's prince--but all she really wants is a chance for a future with her secret love, Aspen, who is a caste below her"-- Provided by publisher.

Accelerated Reader blank 4.7 12.0.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Stubborn, independent, musically talented teen America Singer reluctantly enters the Selection, competing with thirty-four girls to become Prince Maxon's wife. By the dramatic close of this first series installment, both a love triangle and a tense political situation emerge. TV's The Bachelor meets caste-based future dystopia in this original, addictive, and well-written novel. (c) Copyright 2012. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select