WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

We unleash the merciless storm /

by Mejia, Tehlor Kay [author.]; Mejia, Tehlor Kay.
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookSeries: We set the dark on fire ; 2.Publisher: New York, NY : Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2020]Edition: First edition.Description: 388 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062691347; 0062691341.Subject(s): Social classes -- Juvenile fiction | Family secrets -- Juvenile fiction | Marriage -- Juvenile fiction | Dystopias -- Juvenile fiction | Secrecy -- Juvenile fiction | Lesbians -- Juvenile fiction | Social classes -- Fiction | Family secrets -- Fiction | Marriage -- Fiction | Dystopias -- Fiction | Secrecy -- Fiction | Young adult fiction | Dystopian fiction | Fantasy fiction | Fiction | Young adult works | Dystopian fiction | Fantasy fictionSummary: On the other side of Medio's border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause. Carmen Santos is one of La Voz's best soldiers: she spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to La Voz's headquarters. There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot, culminating in an excruciating question of loyalty -- to her cause or to her love.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: Latinx Authors
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC MEJ Available 39270004907915

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>In this nail-biting sequel to Tehlor Kay Mejia's critically acclaimed fantasy novel We Set the Dark on Fire, La Voz operative Carmen is forced to choose between the girl she loves and the success of the rebellion she's devoted her life to. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale and Anna-Marie McLemore.</p> <p>Being a part of the resistance group La Voz is an act of devotion and desperation. On the other side of Medio's border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause.</p> <p>Carmen Santos is one of La Voz's best soldiers. She spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to the only real home she's ever known: La Voz's headquarters.</p> <p>There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot. Will Carmen break with her community and save the girl who stole her heart--or fully embrace the ruthless rebel she was always meant to be?</p>

Sequel to: We set the dark on fire

On the other side of Medio's border wall, the oppressed class fights for freedom and liberty, sacrificing what little they have to become defenders of the cause. Carmen Santos is one of La Voz's best soldiers: she spent years undercover, but now, with her identity exposed and the island on the brink of a civil war, Carmen returns to La Voz's headquarters. There she must reckon with her beloved leader, who is under the influence of an aggressive new recruit, and with the devastating news that her true love might be the target of an assassination plot, culminating in an excruciating question of loyalty -- to her cause or to her love.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

This return to the dystopian world of We Set the Dark on Fire (rev. 7/19)whose protagonist was Dani, one of two wives to rising politico Mateofocuses on Carmen. Danis co-wife and secret romantic partner, Carmen was revealed in the first installment to be a member of the resistance group La Voz. Now she has left Mateos home for the groups compound. La Voz demands absolute devotion and any sacrifice necessary for its fight against an unjust government (as in the first installment, this society includes references to our own, particularly a walled border). Carmen is torn between the group and her desire to protect Dani, whos still at Mateos side and whose complete loyalty to La Voz hasnt yet been proven. Her resulting decisions set off a fast-paced journey, complete with daring escapes, assassinations, and a few steamy (though not graphic) encounters, allowing its heroines to display impressive survival and fighting skills as well as deep emotions. Fans whove grown attached to Carmen and Dani will appreciate this duology-concluders more extensive look into their lives and the inventive world in which they live. Shoshana Flax March/April 2020 p.85(c) Copyright 2020. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select