WELCOME TO THE ALTADENA LIBRARY CATALOG!

The new David Espinoza /

by Aceves, Fred [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : HarperTeen, [2020]Edition: First edition.Description: 323 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062489883; 0062489887.Subject(s): Body image -- Fiction | Muscle dysmorphia -- Fiction | Body dysmorphic disorder -- Fiction | Bodybuilding -- Fiction | Steroids -- Fiction | Drug abuse -- Fiction | Bullying -- Fiction | Latin Americans -- Fiction | Body image -- Juvenile fiction | Bodybuilding -- Juvenile fiction | Steroids -- Juvenile fiction | Drug abuse -- Juvenile fiction | Bullying -- Juvenile fiction | Latin Americans -- Juvenile fiction | High school students -- Fiction | Body image -- Fiction | Bodybuilding -- Fiction | Steroids -- Fiction | Drug abuse -- Fiction | Bullying -- Fiction | Latin Americans -- Fiction | Young adult fiction | Fiction | Young adult works | Novels | Social problem fictionSummary: Obsessed with the idea that he is not muscular enough and tired of being bullied, David, age seventeen, begins using steroids, endangering his relationships with family and friends.Summary: What does not kill me makes me stronger. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully goes viral at the end of junior year, David Espinoza vows to use the summer to bulk up, become a man, and wow everyone when school starts again the fall. Spending his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that is full of bodybuilders, David becomes frustrated with his slow progress. As his life begins to revolve about his muscle gains, he falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world. Pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he will eventually have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything. -- adapted from jacket
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: Latinx Authors
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC ACE Available 39270004907857

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>This own voices story from the acclaimed author of The Closest I've Come unflinchingly examines steroid abuse and male body dysmorphia. Perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds and Matt De La Peña.</p> <p>David Espinoza is tired of being messed with. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully's slap goes viral at the end of junior year, David vows to use the summer to bulk up-- do what it takes to become a man--and wow everyone when school starts again the fall.</p> <p>Soon David is spending all his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that's full of bodybuilders. Frustrated with his slow progress, his life eventually becomes all about his muscle gains. As it says on the Iron Life wall, What does not kill me makes me stronger.</p> <p>As David falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world, pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he'll have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything.</p>

Ages 14 up HarperTeen.

Grades 10-12 HarperTeen.

Obsessed with the idea that he is not muscular enough and tired of being bullied, David, age seventeen, begins using steroids, endangering his relationships with family and friends.

Includes bibliographical references.

What does not kill me makes me stronger. When a video of him getting knocked down by a bully goes viral at the end of junior year, David Espinoza vows to use the summer to bulk up, become a man, and wow everyone when school starts again the fall. Spending his time and money at Iron Life, a nearby gym that is full of bodybuilders, David becomes frustrated with his slow progress. As his life begins to revolve about his muscle gains, he falls into the dark side of the bodybuilding world. Pursuing his ideal body at all costs, he will eventually have to grapple with the fact that it could actually cost him everything. -- adapted from jacket

Novelist Select