Normal view MARC view ISBD view

The best at it /

by Pancholy, Maulik [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Balzer + Bray, an imprint of HarperCollinsPublishers, [2019]Edition: First edition.Description: 320 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780062866417; 0062866419.Subject(s): Identity (Philosophical concept) -- Juvenile fiction | Sexual minorities -- Juvenile fiction | Anxiety -- Juvenile fiction | Middle schools -- Juvenile fiction | Schools -- Juvenile fiction | Bullying -- Juvenile fiction | East Indian Americans -- Juvenile fiction | Families -- Indiana -- Juvenile fiction | Indiana -- Juvenile fiction | Identity -- Fiction | Anxiety -- Fiction | Middle schools -- Fiction | Schools -- Fiction | Bullying -- Fiction | East Indian Americans -- Fiction | Family life -- Indiana -- Fiction | Indiana -- FictionSummary: "Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you're really good at. And become the BEST at it. Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul's brain. While he's not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won't be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge. . . . But what if he discovers he isn't the best at anything?"--Goodreads.com.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's New Book Shelf J PAN Checked out 02/07/2020 39270004879189

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>From award-winning actor Maulik Pancholy comes a hilarious and heartfelt middle grade debut about a gay Indian American boy coming into his own. Perfect for fans of Tim Federle's Nate series.</p> <p>Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather, Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you're really good at and become the BEST at it.</p> <p>Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul's brain. While he's not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won't be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge.... But what if he discovers he isn't the best at anything?</p> <p>Funny, charming, and incredibly touching, this is a story about friendship, family, and the courage it takes to live your truth. </p>

"Rahul Kapoor is heading into seventh grade in a small town in Indiana. The start of middle school is making him feel increasingly anxious, so his favorite person in the whole world, his grandfather Bhai, gives him some well-meaning advice: Find one thing you're really good at. And become the BEST at it. Those four little words sear themselves into Rahul's brain. While he's not quite sure what that special thing is, he is convinced that once he finds it, bullies like Brent Mason will stop torturing him at school. And he won't be worried about staring too long at his classmate Justin Emery. With his best friend, Chelsea, by his side, Rahul is ready to crush this challenge. . . . But what if he discovers he isn't the best at anything?"--Goodreads.com.

Novelist Select