The ghost collector /

by Mills, Allison [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Toronto : Annick Press, 2019.Description: 200 pages ; 20 cm.ISBN: 9781773212968; 1773212966.Subject(s): Ghosts -- Juvenile fiction | Grief -- Juvenile fiction | Mothers -- Death -- Juvenile fiction | Ghosts -- Fiction | Grief -- Fiction | Mothers -- Death -- FictionSummary: After her mother's death, Shelly, who helps lost souls transition into the next world, begins to bring the ghosts home and hide them in her room.
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Children's Collection Children's Fiction J MIL Available 39270004876250

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>Ghosts aren't meant to stick around forever...</p> <p>Shelly and her grandmother catch ghosts. In their hair.</p> <p>Just like all the women in their family, they can see souls who haven't transitioned yet; it's their job to help the ghosts along their journey. When Shelly's mom dies suddenly, Shelly's relationship to ghosts--and death--changes. Instead of helping spirits move on, Shelly starts hoarding them. But no matter how many ghost cats, dogs, or people she hides in her room, Shelly can't ignore the one ghost that's missing. Why hasn't her mom's ghost come home yet?</p> <p>Rooted in a Cree worldview and inspired by stories about the author's great-grandmother's life, The Ghost Collector delves into questions of grief and loss, and introduces an exciting new voice in tween fiction that will appeal to fans of Kate DiCamillo's Louisiana's Way Home and Patrick Ness's A Monster Calls. </p>

After her mother's death, Shelly, who helps lost souls transition into the next world, begins to bring the ghosts home and hide them in her room.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Canadian sixth grader Shelly lives with her single mother and grandmother in a small apartment. All the women on the maternal side of Shelly's Ililiw/Cree family have the ability to communicate with the dead, and for as long as Shelly can remember, Grandma has helped them move on in exchange for "knickknacks and favors and food." Though her mother disapproves of the whole business, Shelly loves being her grandmother's "apprentice." Then an unthinkable tragedy occurs, and in the aftermath, dealing with the dead takes on new emotional and financial importance. Grief-stricken and lonely, Shelly snares ghost after ghost-people, dogs, cats, a squirrel-in her long hair and smuggles them home. But none of them is the one ghost she longs to find, and by "collecting" them, Shelly is upsetting the natural order. The story is a sad one, but the support of friends living and dead makes it clear that Shelly is going to be okay. Alongside grief, the afterlife, secrets, and responsibility, Mills (herself of Ililiw/Cree and settler descent) explores themes of identity, belonging, and the challenges of being bicultural; for instance, Shelly is bullied as "the only Indigenous kid in [her] class" but simultaneously "feels like she only gets bits and pieces of what it means to be Cree." Mills's spare prose is poignant and never heavy-handed, culturally specific yet universally resonant. Katie Bircher November/December 2019 p.91(c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select