Ignite the stars /

by Milan, Maura [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: Chicago, Illinois : Albert Whitman and Company, 2018.Description: 388 pages ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9780807536254.Subject(s): Science fiction | Criminals -- Fiction | Loyalty -- FictionSummary: "When the notorious I.A. Ccha is captured by the Olympus Commonwealth and revealed to be a sixteen-year-old girl, she is sentenced to correctional rehabilitation at a training ground for the elite Star Force where she forms unlikely alliances"-- Provided by publisher.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: Asian & Asian American Authors
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult New Book Shelf YA FIC MIL Available 39270004874792

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Everyone in the universe knows his name. Everyone in the universe fears him. But no one realizes that notorious outlaw Ia Cōcha is a seventeen-year-old girl.<br> <br> A criminal mastermind and unrivaled pilot, Ia has spent her life terrorizing the Olympus Commonwealth, the imperialist nation that destroyed her home. When the Commonwealth captures her and her true identity is exposed, they see Ias age and talent as an opportunity: by forcing her to serve them, they will prove that no one is beyond their control.<br> <br> Soon, Ia is trapped at the Commonwealths military academy, desperately plotting her escape. But new acquaintancesincluding Brinn, a seemingly average student with a closely-held secret, and their charming Flight Master, Knivescause Ia to question her own alliances. Can she find a way to escape the Commonwealths clutches before these bonds deepen?<br> <br> In this exhilarating edge-of-your-seat sci-fi adventureperfect for fans of The Lunar Chronicles debut author Maura Milan introduces our world to a thrilling new heroine.

"When the notorious I.A. Ccha is captured by the Olympus Commonwealth and revealed to be a sixteen-year-old girl, she is sentenced to correctional rehabilitation at a training ground for the elite Star Force where she forms unlikely alliances"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Ia Cōcha is an infamous rebel pilot, criminal, and (secretly) a teenage girl. When Ia is captured and exposed by the Olympus Commonwealth, her punishment is being sent to the imperialist government's military academy. Unexpectedly, Ia befriends her secretive roommate and falls for the flight master, making alliances necessary to save the universe. Sci-fi fans will get swept up in this fast-paced, dramatic, and diversely cast space epic. (c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select