Normal view MARC view ISBD view

A house of ghosts : a mystery /

by Ryan, William [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : Arcade/CrimeWise, 2019.Edition: First North American edition.Description: 372 pages : illustrations ; 22 cm.ISBN: 9781948924719 : HRD; 1948924714 : HRD.Subject(s): Paranormal fiction | Mystery fiction | Ghost stories | Occult fiction | FICTION / Mystery & Detective / Women Sleuths | FICTION / Ghost | FICTION / Occult & Supernatural | FICTION / Mystery & Detective / HistoricalSummary: "Shortlisted for the Irish Book Award, a classic cozy big-house mystery haunted by the specters of World War One--for readers of Agatha Christie and Simone St. James. Winter 1917. As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England,everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives. At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, armaments manufacturer Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons, both of whom died atthe front. Among the guests, two have been secretly dispatched from the intelligence service: Kate Cartwright, a friend of the family who lost her beloved brother at the Somme and who, in the realm of the spiritual, has her own special gift; and the mysterious Captain Donovan, recently returned from Europe. Top secret plans for weapons developed by Lord Highmount's company have turned up in Berlin, and there is reason to believe enemy spies will be in attendance. As the guests arrive, it becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Then, when a storm descends, they find themselves trapped on the island. Soon one of their number will die. For Blackwater Abbey is haunted in more ways than one. An unrelenting, gripping mystery, packed with twists and turns and a kindling of romance, A House of Ghosts is the perfect cold-weather read"-- Provided by publisher.Other editions: Reproduction of (manifestation):: ; Ryan, William, 1965- House of ghosts
    average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Altadena Main Library
Adult Collection Adult New Arrivals Ordered

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

Finalist for the Irish Book Award for Crime Fiction Book of the Year, a Classic Cozy Big-House Mystery Haunted by the Specters of World War One--For Readers of Agatha Christie and Simone St. James <br> <br> Winter 1917. As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England, everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives. At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, armaments manufacturer Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons, both of whom died at the front.<br> <br> Among the guests, two have been secretly dispatched from the intelligence service: Kate Cartwright, a friend of the family who lost her beloved brother at the Somme and who, in the realm of the spiritual, has her own special gift; and the mysterious Captain Donovan, recently returned from Europe. Top secret plans for weapons developed by Lord Highmount's company have turned up in Berlin, and there is reason to believe enemy spies will be in attendance. As the guests arrive, it becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Then, when a storm descends, they find themselves trapped on the island. Soon one of their number will die. For Blackwater Abbey is haunted in more ways than one . . . .<br> <br> An unrelenting, gripping mystery, packed with twists and turns and a kindling of romance, A House of Ghosts is the perfect cold-weather read.

"An Arcade CrimeWise book."

"Shortlisted for the Irish Book Award, a classic cozy big-house mystery haunted by the specters of World War One--for readers of Agatha Christie and Simone St. James. Winter 1917. As the First World War enters its most brutal phase, back home in England,everyone is seeking answers to the darkness that has seeped into their lives. At Blackwater Abbey, on an island off the Devon coast, armaments manufacturer Lord Highmount has arranged a spiritualist gathering to contact his two sons, both of whom died atthe front. Among the guests, two have been secretly dispatched from the intelligence service: Kate Cartwright, a friend of the family who lost her beloved brother at the Somme and who, in the realm of the spiritual, has her own special gift; and the mysterious Captain Donovan, recently returned from Europe. Top secret plans for weapons developed by Lord Highmount's company have turned up in Berlin, and there is reason to believe enemy spies will be in attendance. As the guests arrive, it becomes clear that each has something they would rather keep hidden. Then, when a storm descends, they find themselves trapped on the island. Soon one of their number will die. For Blackwater Abbey is haunted in more ways than one. An unrelenting, gripping mystery, packed with twists and turns and a kindling of romance, A House of Ghosts is the perfect cold-weather read"-- Provided by publisher.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Library Journal Review

In 1917, British armaments manufacturer Lord Highmount has lost two of his sons in World War I. He invites a number of people, including two mediums, to a gathering at Blackwater Abbey on an isolated island off the coast of Devon. He hopes to contact the ghosts of his sons. Kate Cartwright, a young woman with her own inherited ability to see ghosts, along with the mysterious Capt. Robert Donovan, attend the party at the request of the Secret Intelligence Service. The SIS suspects that a spy who stole munitions plans will be there. High seas and a dangerous storm trap everyone on the island, but it's not a ghost that cuts the telephone line or wrecks the abbey ferry. The unconventional historical mystery combines spies, ghosts, and wartime in a riveting Agatha Christie-type story that tells of the tragedy of a lost generation. VERDICT Already published in the UK, this haunting story was a finalist for the NBA Irish Book Awards Crime Fiction Book of the Year. Readers willing to accept the existence of ghosts will appreciate the atmospheric mystery, which seems designed for fans of Charles Todd's "Ian Rutledge" books.--Lesa Holstine, Evansville Vanderburgh P.L., IN

Novelist Select