Normal view MARC view ISBD view

Cold storage : a novel /

by Koepp, David [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York : Ecco, an imprint of HarperCollins Publishers, [2019]Edition: First edition.Description: 308 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780062916433; 0062916432.Subject(s): Epidemics -- Fiction | Science Fiction | HorrorSummary: For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Panic Room, and War of the Worlds: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism. When Pentagon bio-terror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards--one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity?
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Bob Lucas Memorial Library
Adult Collection Adult Fiction BRANCH SF KOE Available 39270004861799

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>"On every level, Cold Storage is pure, unadulterated entertainment." --Douglas Preston, The New York Times Book Review</p> <p>For fans of The Martian, Dark Matter, and Before the Fall comes an astonishing debut thriller by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park: a wild and terrifying bioterrorism adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism that could destroy all of humanity.</p> <p>They thought it was contained. They were wrong.</p> <p>When Pentagon bioterror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository.</p> <p>Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it.</p> <p>He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards--one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity?</p>

For readers of Andy Weir and Noah Hawley comes an astonishing debut by the screenwriter of Jurassic Park, Spider-Man, Panic Room, and War of the Worlds: a wild and terrifying adventure about three strangers who must work together to contain a highly contagious, deadly organism. When Pentagon bio-terror operative Roberto Diaz was sent to investigate a suspected biochemical attack, he found something far worse: a highly mutative organism capable of extinction-level destruction. He contained it and buried it in cold storage deep beneath a little-used military repository. Now, after decades of festering in a forgotten sub-basement, the specimen has found its way out and is on a lethal feeding frenzy. Only Diaz knows how to stop it. He races across the country to help two unwitting security guards--one an ex-con, the other a single mother. Over one harrowing night, the unlikely trio must figure out how to quarantine this horror again. All they have is luck, fearlessness, and a mordant sense of humor. Will that be enough to save all of humanity?

Novelist Select