Kingdom of souls /

by Barron, Rena [author.].
Material type: materialTypeLabelBookPublisher: New York, NY : HarperCollins, [2019]Edition: First edition.Description: 485 pages ; 24 cm.ISBN: 9780062870957; 0062870955.Subject(s): Magic -- Fiction | Missing children -- Fiction | Demonology -- Fiction | Africa, West -- Social life and customs -- Fiction | Young adult fictionSummary: Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval. There's only one thing Arrah hasn't tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom's children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit. She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees... unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.
List(s) this item appears in: Young Adult: Black & African American Authors
    Average rating: 0.0 (0 votes)
Item type Home library Collection Shelving location Call number Status Date due Barcode
Books Books Bob Lucas Memorial Library
Young Adult Collection Young Adult Fiction BRANCH YA FIC BAR Available 39270004857466

Enhanced descriptions from Syndetics:

<p>A girl with no gifts must bargain for the power to fight her own mother's dark schemes--even if the price is her life.</p> <p>Crackling with dark magic, unspeakable betrayal, and daring twists you won't see coming, this explosive YA fantasy debut is a can't-miss, high-stakes epic perfect for fans of Strange the Dreamer and Children of Blood and Bone.</p> <p>"Magnetic and addictive. This book is black girl magic at its finest."--New York Times bestselling author Dhonielle Clayton</p> <p>Heir to two lines of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. Yet she fails at bone magic, fails to call upon her ancestors, and fails to live up to her family's legacy. Under the disapproving eye of her mother, the Kingdom's most powerful priestess and seer, she fears she may never be good enough.</p> <p>But when the Kingdom's children begin to disappear, Arrah is desperate enough to turn to a forbidden, dangerous ritual. If she has no magic of her own, she'll have to buy it--by trading away years of her own life.</p> <p>Arrah's borrowed power reveals a nightmarish betrayal, and on its heels, a rising tide of darkness that threatens to consume her and all those she loves. She must race to unravel a twisted and deadly scheme... before the fight costs more than she can afford.</p> <p>Set in a richly imagined world inspired by whispered tales of voodoo and folk magic, Rena Barron's captivating debut is the beginning of a thrilling saga about a girl caught between gods, monsters, and the gift and the curse of power.</p> <p>"Masterful."--SLJ (starred review)</p>

Born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, Arrah yearns for magic of her own. But each year she fails to call forth her ancestral powers, while her ambitious mother watches with growing disapproval. There's only one thing Arrah hasn't tried, a deadly last resort: trading years of her own life for scraps of magic. Until the Kingdom's children begin to disappear, and Arrah is desperate to find the culprit. She uncovers something worse. The long-imprisoned Demon King is stirring. And if he rises, his hunger for souls will bring the world to its knees... unless Arrah pays the price for the magic to stop him.

Reviews provided by Syndetics

Horn Book Review

Arrah was born into a family of powerful witchdoctors, though magic has always evaded her. But when children are abducted and omens of death appear in the market streets, Arrah doesn't need magic to know that evil is looming. Fortified by her desire to save the children and live up to her exacting mother's standards, Arrah trades years of her life in order to possess magic that will liberate the kingdom from the threat. When the trade is complete, she discovers that secrets lie around every corner, people are not as they seem, and gods and demons exist alongside humanity. Barron includes high-stakes reveals, breathtaking world-building, complicated female characters (who are both heroes and villains), and an ill-fated romance in her intricate fantasy novel. Narrated by Arrah, the story is fast paced, with vignettes written from other characters' points of view breaking up the tension and adding new details to the plot. Fans of Black fantasy stories based in African traditions (e.g., Akata Witch, rev. 5/11; Children of Blood and Bone, rev. 5/18) should welcome this volume; additionally, its commitment to a story line filled with violence and harbingers of death cause the tale to teeter between fantasy and horror in innovative ways that differentiate it from others that came before. S. R. Toliver November/December 2019 p.84(c) Copyright 2019. The Horn Book, Inc., a wholly owned subsidiary of Media Source, Inc. No redistribution permitted.

Novelist Select